Answering Questions


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Before I write my next day's entry I want to answer some questions that I saw on the comments:

1) Were the thousand year old eggs really a thousand years old? No...they are rarely over 100 days old. Something else that is interesting about the eggs is that they are duck eggs.

2) Smog problem. The smog is definitely an issue. I asked our trip leader about what the government is doing to correct it since the Olympics will be here shortly. He said that the government has already started requiring companies to not pollute the air. I also heard the the boom in automobiles is a recent phenomen that has increased pollution. The government is cracking down on the emmissions from vehicles. In Xi'an the smog is not NEARLY as bad.

3) Why didn't I drink the water? There is nothing wrong with the water except that has micronisms in it that my body is not use to. There is a distinct possibility it will make me sick. Matter-of-fact, the facilitator of our group said that he kept getting sick when he was over here, and finally figured out it was because he was asking for ice for his drinks.

4) What is my honest opinion about the food? Well...my opinion is the same as it is with American food. I like some of it and I don't like some of it. I think as a whole it is saltier than our food. It is not as sweet as our food. Watermelon is pretty much the signal that the meal is over. When the watermelon is served, that is the end of the meal. The watermelon has been very good in China. I don't know if it is the soil, or if it is the type of watermelon or some other factor.

5) What type of money do they use? There are not coins. Their money is called yuan or a RMB. Each yuan is worth about 12 cents. So if you see that something is 16 yuen, then you know that equals about $2. A bottle of water typically costs 5 yuan. Some places will take either American dollars or yuan.


6) Why are my days so long? That is funny that you should ask. Our tour guide explained that they only cram so much in the day because we are American. She said that Americans like to "go, go, go". I think that is interesting that is the perception of Americans. Oh yeah....as an aside. Do you know what the Chinese call us when we walk by? Big-noses. It is not an insult, just an observation. had never really thought about it before, but I guess it all depends on your perspective.

7)Do they have sports teams? Yes, I guess so. I saw people playing, but I didn't see any sports games. I did ask some students what they like to do and I received answers like basketball, running, and swimming.

Take care, Bambi



Advertisement



26th June 2006

This is very interesting. Have fun. JHE
27th June 2006

What a wonderful experience
Bambi, Sounds like you are having an experience of a life time - soak it all in and lock the key away so you will never forget it. And of course safe trip home. Love to see all the pictures when you get back. Take care, love you, Ruth
28th June 2006

Interesting
I have never thought about some of the questions addressed. This Blog is really getting me to think!
6th July 2006

Eggs
There is no way I could have ate those eggs. You are a brave woman.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb