Sunday rain


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 24th 2011
Published: July 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I sit in my red armchair, listening to iTunes radio and the AC's fan. Outside the rain is pouring down between the grey skyskrapers, making the ligtly dressed beijingers walk a bit faster. In spite of the rain and thunder, the sky won't clear up and I haven't seen the sun nor the blue sky for two weeks now. I wonder how the beijingers endure it. Maybe they do as I usually do during the endlesslys dark swedish winters. I dress in nice colours, trying to bring out a better mood for myself. And Beijingers do dress nicely. Maybe not always with high quality clothes, but it's still very cute. Too cute for me. T-shirts with cute prints, or dresses with patterns of dogs, flowers and dots. I'm walking around in my tank tops, shorts and flip flops looking like a lazy student. Can't say I'm lazy though. In the afternoons I don't have class. Instead I spend my days in coffee shops, with the expensive good coffee, and I study. Word after word. Sign after sign. It seems endless and I wonder if I'll ever will learn enough to have a decent conversation with a beijinger. At least they take me for a chinese person and not a westerner, well, that is until I speak and say "Wo bu shuo Hanyu" I don't speak Chinese.

School is good. I have a great teacher that is so patient and answers all our stupid, western questions about "he jiu" drink beer and why chinese people are so shy when it comes to kiss your boy/girlfriend. I like her a lot. Our class already have people who left, and I have two new room mates that I've hardly seen. They just stay in their room. I've figured out now why the put a girl in every apartment with boys. Because the boys are acting a bit more proper, not being an entirely mess. Well, I can't complain even though one boy in my dorm is a partyboy from Mexico and he sees this german girl, not being so quiet at night... Those kids. I feel super old and wonder what all those parents are thinking when sending their kids to party several days a week in Beijing. But some of them actually learn some chinese.

Now it's actually pouring down and if you don't have an umbrella you are really going to get soaked. I'm going down to our tiny underground mall and I'll buy a "bing" pancake, which is a delicious Beijing snack for 4 yuan (like 4 SEK).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb