Arrived


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 13th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally I'm in this HUGE city, where the sun never shines because of the pollution. I arrived at the same time as another of my roomies. His name is Austin, a tall big blue eyed 20 year old. We get along very well and since he knows chinese better than me and has been here before, I better stick with him for a while. I think he likes to hang out with me as well, since I'm a liberal girl. Well, he is gay. From NYC. So the talks are about boys and we occasionally sing Beyoncé songs. He is probably the closest I have to a female friend, since I live with totally four boys and one middle aged (I was gonna write old) woman.

She's not old, it's just that I feel old. Today another girl turned 29, just like me. I guess we're about the oldes people in the class. A lot of people are like 20 and party often and skip the first hour of class. Well, maybe I would too if I had daddy's money, but I don't. Insted I would say I'm quite an ambitious student considering this is my first week off from work, I'm jetlaged and I have a whole city to discover, I still study quite a lot. It's not that I need to pass my tests, which I do as well. It's that I hardly know how to speak. And it's quite frustrating not being able to buy food, ask for directions, small talk in the elevator and so on. Chinese has four tones for every syllable. Or acutally five, sine there are syllabole without tones. And if you say the wrong tone, most of the time the chinese people don't understand you. One of my classmates said that we learn languages by pronunciation of the word, while it seems that in chinese it's more important with pronunciation of tones. Did I say chinese is superhard? Well, I guess this is not the last time I'll bitch about it.

At least I learned "zháoxiáng ji de chong diànqì" which means camera battery charger. I forgot mine at home. I actually didn't find it when I was supposed to pack. So soon I'll go to an Olympy's shop to try and get a new one, unless I but a new camera. So hopefully I'll have pictures for you all soon. Just be "nàixin" patient.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb