Give me your tired, your poor...but wait when are you coming back to China?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 13th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free…but wait when are you coming back to China?



I was reminded of this part of Emma Lazurus’ poem as I stood outside the United States embassy with my girlfriend as we awaited the outcome of her visa. We were planning to come home for the Mayday celebration that takes place in China during the first week of May.

As I said above, we were planning on coming to the US, but that changed all in the span of a 3 minute interview. She was summarily rejected on the basis of she is single, has no real property, and no other ties to China. As the interviewer said…”there is no reason for you to come back to China”. Well fuck you!

The United States was founded or at least the United States I knew before I came to China was built on the principal of honesty, trust, and family. Are we so arrogant to think that most that come to the US want to leave their country, their homes, and their families all for the sake of being able to eat McDonalds, or watch Brittany Spears?

I spit on notion that we as Americans have reduced all others to the notion of a number and a statistic. I spit on the nations that reduce a human soul to just a number in a crowd.

Yes, I am from one of the greatest nations on earth and will always cherish it. The reasons why; I can say fuck you, I can question the ideals, and I can speak out. But have we become so arrogant to think that just because someone from another country who wants to visit the US will disappear into the teeming masses of a great melting pot? Some yes…but most I know, no…they want to maintain their identities, they want to breathe the air of freedom, they want one chance to see what they have read about, and possibly dreamed about.

I am disappointed in you America, I am disappointed in you for breaking the one that I love heart. I hate you for the ideals you have become, I hate you for the fact that you have created a monster that you have set loose on the world and now cannot control. I love you for my freedoms, I love you for what you used to believe, I hope that you will find your way…I hope you will love me if I return…I hope…I hope.


Advertisement



13th April 2006

good call
good call sir, i too am disappointed
13th April 2006

It will happen
I believe the visit will happen. I honor your feelings and am so disappointed in the lack of understanding and compassion shown by our representative(s) in another land. God has blessed America with so much - may these blessings now be extended peacefully to all and more understanding of others be the result.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb