'Up in the Air' and coming back down to Earth


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 28th 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

HimalayasHimalayasHimalayas

Flying over the Himalayas
Flying with Emirates was pretty damn nice. The entertainment was incredible. They had every UK number 1... ever! On my flight to Dubai I had the most incredible dessert (for a plane anyway!) I think it was called a Mango & Passion Fruit Cheesecake, but it had more of a mousse texture. So sweet!

Was pretty lucky with who I ended up sitting next to on my Dubai - Beijing flight. I had a very talkative Chinese man from a place to the North-East of Beijing. Got a good bit of insight into what the next three weeks might be like from him. "You will learn so much!" I hope so! He lived a lifestyle which I would compare to that of Ryan Bingham (played by George Clooney) from one of the 5+ films I watched on the flights. He said he wants to quit it within five years - he wanted a travelling career, but he got too much of what he asked for.

Pretty much everyone on the programme seems nice! We arrived around midnight and were met by a small group of volunteers (mainly English students) who are going to be with us over the next few weeks. Very friendly. I'm kinda shocked by how much Chinese I already understand. I just need to be brave enough to actually use some now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb