Last day in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Chinese food is good.. however, try eating it three meals a day everyday and I think your stomach might feel about as good as mine! What I'm trying to get at is I feel like shit! After abandoning long held principles, I resorted to grabbing a spicy chicken burger at the local McDonald's, and boy was that refreshing! But not to worry, I have since recovered and the food, from what I hear, will get better in other parts of Asia.

After going and going we wanted a relaxing day so we set out for the Temple of Heaven Park, which is probably the only part of Beijing where you could relax. We walked through awesome rose gardens and long fields of grass.. a much needed escape from the bustling city. Later that night we went to the Laoshe Tea House and tasted some amazing teas. You could say it is similiar to going to a winery and learning about the wine but it is all different tea leaves and regions and much less snootier than winos (just kidding George).

I am really looking forward to going to Xi'an (tomorrow morning) where we can experience more nature and hiking trails and the much smaller city feel. I hope you guys are all doing well, write me and let me know how you're doing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th June 2007

Hopefully the tea plants are doing better there than here! (mine are, I'm quite certain, stubbornly depressed). Did you or Rach find a new favorite tea? I have LOVED getting these updates from you, keep them coming!
25th June 2007

ps. I broke my anti-McDonalds overseas thing in Panama City on account of having to pee reeeeealllly bad. As much as we fight it, there really is something a tiny bit comforting about those damned golden arches- you always know what to expect AND you can pee for free! Just don't let it happen again!!!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb