rain and tragedy


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
May 31st 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I got caught in a rainstorm. I had walked to meet Micheal at the office for our Chinese lesson and by the time I had to leave for work it was pouring down rain. Being the gentleman that he is Micheal offered to bike me home. With not enough time to walk home and then change clothes I took him up on his offer. So in the pouring rain I sat on the back of his bike Chinese style and we peddled through the back alleyways to my home. To the average Chinese this is a common occurrence but to me it was an adventure and really great fun. Just another day in China

Later in the week:


Fair warning this next part is rough:

Not moving stuck in traffic not far from the crossroads where we always met (Francesca) I decided to get out and walk home. At the crossroads a huge crowd was gathered and in the center was a very young boy sprawled out on across the pavement his bike beside him. Blood was everywhere. My first instinct was someone help this guy. Someone do CPR do something! But they all just stood there in a circle staring while he bled out. We watched him die. I watched him die.
The ambulance finally arrived and I started crying. He was obviously dead. This guy did not stand a chance the ambulance that arrived was an empty van no medicine, no cardio stuff, nothing. They did not even have a stretcher. I was so angry. This guy might have stood a chance in America where the people would have cared, where they would have a proper transport system. Here they had nothing.

I have never felt so alone and helpless and angry as when I watched them put him in the ambulance and watched the crowed disperse. The show was over. Beijing is supposed to be a modern city but its ambulances are in the dark ages. I was so angry with the Chinese and their attitude towards people often I feel like they have no regard for human life this was one of those times.

On the way home I was so angry I puked in bushes. I was upset that the boy died but I was more upset because I felt it could have been prevented.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Things that annoy meThings that annoy me
Things that annoy me

I have started taking pictures of all the things that really drive me crazy everyday for example bus routes
Thing that annoy meThing that annoy me
Thing that annoy me

2nd thing that annoy me people who try and sell me things because I am a forienger and think that I have money and shout Hello looka looka . these streets are especially bad for annoyting sales people
things that annoy me things that annoy me
things that annoy me

and of course traffic drives me crazy
Bike repair manBike repair man
Bike repair man

these people always do a good business
churchchurch
church

This church sits on my bus route and there are always people haning outside it.
GRrrrrGRrrrr
GRrrrr

I am easily amused. Nothing makes me happier then just wandering around Beijing takeing pictures. I don't have a destination I don't want to know where I am. I just wander. Well i took Jinhua with me and he had to know where were and where we were going. But.... the annoying thing was he could not read a map to save his life. I am very good at this now. I know Beijing better than he does because I get out and just wander around while he just goes to work and back. I was so frustrated because he continually made me feel lost even though i wasn't because I had no destination. But he could not understand that. Oh well cultural differences are a part of my life.
ArtArt
Art

Well if i was still an art major i would be in heaven. Only in China would there be so many different size brushes.
electrician on crackelectrician on crack
electrician on crack

Dad how many electrical violations is this?
breakbreak
break

What this picture does not show is these men are stopped in the middle of a four lane road.
applesapples
apples

Its apple season you buy them everywhere


3rd June 2007

That is so sad
Trisha, what a terrible thing to see - I can see why you'd be angry. It reminded me that even though our health care system has a lot of problems, we are really lucky to have it. love you, tara ps I have been trying to find you on skype but can't - i looked under you name and under photobug2002. We are "tcneiger", maybe you can add us =)
3rd June 2007

That is so sad!! (the watching the little boy die part) Here in America, you'd rarely have the chance to watch someone die on the streets, unless it's a bad car accident or something. The time is getting closer for you to come home! yeah!
3rd June 2007

boy on bike
Trisha, I,m so sorry you experienced this tragedy. I have to say that I get concerned about you riding in all that traffic. Hold tight. Love you, Grandmama
3rd June 2007

Oh Trisha
I am heartbroken. Even with my poor skills I would have jumped to put pressure on something. Where is the healthcare in China?
3rd June 2007

I'm so sorry Trisha
I'm so sorry dear Trisha. That is the part of life that is so hard. The dark part. You are doing something to help others by being there. You are making a difference. That horrific experience will change you forever. It changes me hearing about it. But you will be more determined to make a difference. Don't let it do anything else honey. Get mad! Get sad. I hate that kind of breaking. I'm sorry you were so hurt. You are very strong though Trisha. You are amazing. I love you. Cheryl
3rd June 2007

Would they have stopped me if i had jumped int here to do CPR? i mean if i was still certified and all...actually i think i would have attempted to do it anyway bc i still know how. Would the Chinese have stopped me? if so i think you better get out of that country.
5th June 2007

happy / sad
A month from today. I'm so excited! You weren't kidding - that was really rough to read. I can't imagine being there in person. That's horrible.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb