Day 22 - Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We caught the train from HK to Shenzhen as it is much cheaper to fly out of Shenzhen. I was so tired because I stayed up too late writing emails and updating the blog. I fell asleep on the train and my head was leaning on my suitcase which had a blue sticker on it. As I was passing through immigration they were giving me funny looks and I got pulled aside. He asked me what was on my head, at first I had no idea what he was talking about but then I wiped my head and I could see blue on my hand. I realised it was the blue sticker from my suitcase and after this I was on my way.

We made our way to the airport and saw Yao Ming's stunt double and a couple of other basketball players. They must have been close to 7 foot and they were in economy class but because they were so tall they got moved to empty business class seats (a good trick).

The first afternoon was spent relaxing and catching up on sleep and we made our way to the famous Wangfujing street. Here I tried some snake, deep fried ice cream, toffee cherries and other interesting food as well as a smoking cola drink. Pepsi was a bit too scared so he stuck to the conventional food (I am not sure if the "beef" was actually beef). Some of the food they had there was:
- silk worms
- scorpion
- dog meat
- starfish
- ostrich
- baby sharks
- cicadas
- lambs balls
etc........

In one of the small shops we got given a magic demonstration (yes we bought some more tricks) and later on in the night Pepsi realised he was missing a small amount of money. We are not sure of the magician used sleight of hand on him or if he was pick pocketed in the streets. The weather was freezing (snow on the streets) so tomorrow we need to buy a jacket.

Ripoff Tally - 12



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th November 2009

I will be there soon
Hey Ken.... looks great.. I will be there in Feb... cant wait!.... not long till you are back... haha

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb