8th day


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
April 11th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was not a nice day. We spent half of it at the S21 torture prison that Poll Pots regime ran here in Phnom Pen and then we went out to the Killing fields where they finished the job. The population of Cambodia was 7 million when Pol Pot cam to power and only 4 million by the time the Vietnamese liberated Cambodia of his scourge. I will not describe the day in any detail as it was overall a very disturbing and uncomfortable experience but none the less a necessary one. Lisa got upset a few times and chose to leave the tour to sit outside. I think you would have to be crazy not to react the same way. I think all of us felt sick in the stomach.

That was all we did today as after the tour we went to the market for a while and had lunch. We will go out to have a look around town tonight a bit later. So not much to report today, instead I will post some more photos. I have downloaded some software to resize them hopefully helping me to load them quicker. Let me know if you can see them OK.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb