Sihanoukville once more...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
May 29th 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hangover......
Beach!
Film!
Massage!
Party!

Meanwhile....
(DALE)
Man its nice to get some sleep! My cell had no windows, so when i woke up i had absolutely no concept of time. Turns out i had about 10 hours interrupted sleep, unheard of. When I eventually braved the outside world, I kinda wish i hadn't of done. Khao San Rd is kinda like Brighton on acid! The funny thing is, you can walk a block in any direction and the whole feeling is completely different. I think they just accepted their country was gonna get trashed by young western hoodlums and thought they would try and at least condense it into one road.

I spent most of the afternoon just strolling around, trying lots and lots of the street food. Apparently, culture in Thailand is to eat at least 5 different meals a day. I was up to the challenge. I found a bookshop, nice bar with some nice people to talk to, and spent the early evening eating, drinking, chatting an watching 'the beach' on their stupidly big plasma screen.

Now I would love to say that I was above the rest of the youths and did not hit the ghetto of Khao San for a night out, but truthfully, it was the first thing on my mind. As i was trying to return to the hostel for a shower, the heavens opened again. And the storm was ridiculous. It was now Khao San river, the water was up to peoples knees. Not fancying treading through the filthiest water known to man, I found the first bar in my range. I met a very nice Aussy/Canadian girl named Peta (also trying to get home) and we ended up spending the rest of the evening there. People watching has never been so funny, lots of thai girls trying to suss out which men have the most money. Needless to say, I was not hit on! Very disappointing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb