Interesting food I had in Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
November 28th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post





Muesli and Fanta Lychee:



I've had some pretty interesting food and drinks on my trip up to this point. So, I figured I'd put the spotlight on some interesting food and beverages I had along the way that tickled my taste buds. The picture on the left is a bowl of Muesli. Muesli is a German breakfast dish. It is pretty much fruits, granola with some yogurt. Needless to say this dish had me sprung like the German-Asian mixed waitress serving it. One adjustment that would make this dish better would be to replace the yogurt with Noosa yogurt. Then we'll have something special. Something quite indulgent. I also had a Fanta Lychee soft drink and it was pleasant. It grew on me, but I wouldn't describe the flavor as true Lychee.



A Must Try in Southeast Asia: Sugar cane juice.







If for some reason you find yourself in Southeast Asia, there are two things that you must do: The first is try a locally pressed sugarcane juice. These are tasty and great thirst quenchers for the hot ass weather of SEA. The second thing would be to use sunblocks, lots of it or you will end up with some nice little brown spots.



Simple Foods in Kampot:







A local recommended this little Vietnamese owned spot to me. It took me a minute to find it, but the food was great. Just simple rice with chicken or pork. The fish sauce was something else though.



Amok, a Cambodian Curry Classic:



My bowl of delicious Amok.



If you ask the locals of Cambodia what their favorite dish is, their answer will most likely be Amok. Amok is a coconut curry dish that consist of either fish or chicken. It is not spicy but is very aromatic. The first thing you will notice after your first bite will be the aroma of bay leaf. I would say that it is a cross between curry and Tum Yum served with rice. It is quite tasty. Perfect for those cold lonely Cambodian nights on the beach.

There were some interesting insect treats, but I was not adventurous enough to try.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Finished productFinished product
Finished product

Banana within sticky rice, wrapped in banana leaves and roasted over open fire.
CondimentsCondiments
Condiments

Condiments at every Cambodian restaurant.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb