Knowledge for Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
November 25th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post


Nearly 30 years after the genocide of its people, Cambodia is fighting to regain its culture and identity. Knowledge was taken from the Cambodian people during the reign of Pol Pot. Teachers, artists, doctors, intellectuals etc. were executed, leaving a generation without a guiding light. As I wandered the shore of Koh Rong, a sign caught my attention. The sign led to a school for local children. I made my way up to the playground, where newly built swings and slides awaited school children. There were two small classroom big enough to seat 10-12 students. On this day there were 6-7 students in the class. A teacher directing the students to repeat the numbers he had written on the board. The students were loud and enthused. You can hear their chanting from a mile away. It made me wonder what educational paths are available for these future scholars to embark on. Then reality hit me and I realized that most of these students won't be in school past high school. I'm not even sure if there is even a high school at all. Knowledge is the foundation of every civilization. In order for Cambodians to regain their culture and identity, education must be restored and maintained.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb