Anything that can Koh Rong will Koh Rong


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
November 25th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post





The boat made final preparations for docking. Eager passengers aboard the Koh Rong Dive Center ferry wer greeted by locals. The small island of Koh Rong is a 2 hours ferry ride from the port of Sihanoukville. The island consists of mostly undeveloped jungle, but has some of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. Only 25% developed, this island is home to hippies, 9-5 vacationers, youngsters who are all looking to escape the irritability of inland Cambodian cities. A hand full of guest houses sprawled across the main beach of the island. A drastic increase from a year ago. The motto on Koh Rong is "Love and Acceptance for all walks of life." Aromas of the stickiest of the Cambodia's ickiest can often be found in the air. Everyone is in their own world, oblivious to their surrounding. There is fishing and snorkeling with local boat boys and a day of tanning on white sand. Local island food are delicious and cheap, but there are chances that it is made with MSG. A bottle of local whiskey is $1.50!!! Fresh fruits are readily available at fruit stands. Here on Koh Rong local children can be normal children. They are not programed to chase tourists down and beg for money. Its an easy life on this island. Some comes expecting to stay for 3-4 nights, but soon find themselves charmed into staying longer by one of the islands many pleasures...



Where do I began..After I arrived on Koh Rong, I ran into Stamy. We bought a bottle of rum for $1.50 and spent the night drinking it with some other travelers. The next day we went as a group for a tour of the area surrounding the island on a small fishing boat. I didn't know how to swim, so I skipped out on scuba diving...To this day, that was the deciding moment in my life that motivated me to learn to swim. After a night or two at my first hostel, I decided to switch. The reason being; I saw a spider and that was enough for my taste. This other hostel had a Asian-German mixed girl working there. The highlight of my stay there was her serving me Muesli every morning. That and the couple in the next room that kept everyone up with their loud fucking.

You gotta take the good with the bad...


"Went for a 20k hike with Mauren, Doren and two other people from the guesthouse the other day. It was a challenging hike that exposed a lot about myself. Hanging around with Doren and Mauren has taught me that there is a better way to deal with unpleasant emotions and that way is to laugh through it. We were so tired on that last stretch of the hike, yet they were not too tired to joke and share a few laughs with each other. I was annoyed, but admired them for it. I also found out that Koh Rong is a place for misfits and societal rejects. Somehow we all shared a common connection. We just want to be accepted. I saw a guy with bad body acne today. he didn't care a bit about how he looked. I have nothing but admiration for his courage and self acceptance."
Journal Entry: 11.25.2013


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Ferry DockFerry Dock
Ferry Dock

This is where I took the ferry from Sihanoukville to Koh Rong.
HikingHiking
Hiking

The girls and I went for a hike.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb