Kampot


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
December 1st 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Empty StreetsEmpty StreetsEmpty Streets

Kampot was relatively empty compared to Siem Reap.
The love for Durian is strong in Kampot

My time in Kampot was not that memorable. It was a charming little city, but I was unable to do much exploration because of an ailment. Kampot is known for is black pepper, which I don't remember trying. Anyways, like I was saying I was sick and could barely get out of bed. I feared the worst, that it was Dengue fever, so I went and got tested at a local health center. The health center itself was more like a school then a health center. Afterwards, I pulled myself out of bed and walked, for what seemed like an eternity for some Tylenol. The Tylenol help and after a few days I felt like myself again. I was here during Thanksgiving, so I had my own Thanksgiving feast at a local favorite called "The Rusty Key Hole," (an interesting name for a restaurant..). The Rusty Key Hole is known for their BBQ ribs. The ribs were very meaty and the sauce had an Asian flare to it (fish sauce). It was delicious, even though my tastebuds had not fully recovered.


"Paul Walker passed away in a fiery car crash yesterday or today. It served as a needed reminder that life is temporary. Those who lives fast, often dies young. A candle that burns twice as bright, burns twice as fast. I can't help being sad at this ironic turn of event. I find comfort in realizing that this is an inevitable part of life. Thanks for your work and may you rest in peace. Life is temporary. Death cannot be prevented, it can only be delayed.."
Journal Entry: 12.01.2013




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Old Colonial BridgeOld Colonial Bridge
Old Colonial Bridge

An old Colonial French Bridge in the background.
View from my BedView from my Bed
View from my Bed

I was bed ridden for almost a week in Kampot.
Friendly LocalsFriendly Locals
Friendly Locals

Friendly Cambodians who offered my a shot of local Rum. I took the shot, I think.
The LightThe Light
The Light

While bed ridden, I saw the light of hope.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb