Geocaching in Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
December 6th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

I met Daniella at Mad Monkey Phnom Penh. She was my roommate. We both bonded over the the fact that we were both recovering from our illnesses. On my last day in Phnom Penh, she introduced me to this scavenger hunt game called "Geocaching." It was confusing at first, but then sparked my interest. There's a website called Geocaching where you do treasure hunts anywhere in the world. I completed my first treasure hunt with the help of Daniella and her gps. The treasure was located in a hole, in a tree and in front of a heavily barbed wired house with two security guards. I was nervous and did not know what to expect. We had to get our treasure without arousing the guard's suspicion. We devised a plan in which Daniella would distract the guard, while I get the treasure. I couldn't see into the hole so decided to feel around with my hand. The thought of creepy crawlers sent chill down my spine. Determined to get my treasure, I close my eyes and continued my search. I was startled as I felt something firm. It was the treasure! It came in a small box covered in black tape with a green "Geocache" sticker. I was excited and relieved. Like Gollum, we quickly walked away from the guards trying to hide our excitement. Our treasure was a coin. We sat and shared a laugh and decided afterwards to put the coin back for the next treasure hunter. It was an exciting experience. Thanks Daniella!




"The last couple of days have been difficult. Ever since I got sick, I've lost my desire to go on any further on this trip. I've lost interest, but what would coming home this early solved? I'm not ready to began working again yet..."
Journal Entry: 12.05.2013


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb