The Killing Field


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
December 8th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

By far the most heart breaking and gut wrenching place I've been to...Why would people do such horrendous things to one another? Fuck politics... Other than religion, only politics can manipulate people to commit such atrocities. The Killing Field is where prisoners, during Pol Pot's reign were taken to be executed. Prisoners that consisted of teachers, doctors, husbands, wives and children. Anyone who Pol Pot deemed a threat to his regime. It was pretty much Cambodia's version of the Cultural Revolution. Pol Pot would recruit poor uneducated Cambodians who would be easy to manipulate. While killing off all the gifted and educated Cambodians. Truck loads of prisoners would be transferred from Toul Sleng Prison to killing fields daily. Loud speakers would play patriotic music at night to block out the screams of prisoners' execution. Bullets were not used because it was believed to be too expensive. Prisoners were beaten with garden tools and then buried alive with DDT. In the middle of the field there is a tree covered with bracelets. This tree is the "Killing Tree." It is where executioners would smash babies. This was only one of hundreds of killing fields throughout Cambodia.




"I went to the Killing Fields yesterday and it had me shook. Last night I had a dream that one of my uncle was diagnosed with terminal cancer. I didn't believe it. He has been the root of our family. The reason for our existence. He'd sacrificed his dreams for his family. This man is my hero. I will never forget what he did and continue to do for our family. If I can be half the man he is, then I have accomplish my goal in life."
Journal Entry: 12.06.13


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TreeTree
Tree

The tree where babies were smashed.


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb