Volunteer Day III


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 1st 2006
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bed & BreakfastBed & BreakfastBed & Breakfast

View of the pool from our balcony at Journeys-Within.
Today I took pencils to class. It had grown so I didn't have enough so just gave pencils to those that didn't have one. The same guy as yesterday kept insisting that he get one even though he had a pen hiding under his paper. He is probably the smartest boy in the class and can follow directions and is eager for attention and praise. At the end of the class, I gave him a pencil for his efforts.

We did the same games as yesterday. The kids are catching on and look forward to the Hockey-Pockey. I tired them out after an hour and a half. The teacher was not too pleased that class ended early. Already they were a bit upset as Claudette wasn't there to do grammer with the older kids.

Yesterday she had eaten some unknown fruit offered by her afternoon class. I think she got food poisoning as remnents flowed from both ends last night. She is better today but dared not venture too far from the security of a clean washroom.

After class I returned downtown for Happy Hour beer and my favorite haunt. They now recognize me and I get better
PoolPoolPool

View of the pool from our balcony at Journeys-Within. Water is circulated by flowing up through the blue jars around the pool.
treatment. The first day I got beer and popcorn. Yesterday I got all the popcorn I wanted. Today was peanuts and a cold wet-wipe. I will return tomorrow to see what else is thrown in.

Another foot massage was in order and again my swollen feet ilicited many giggled and all the girls came over for a look. My masseuse was not as strong as the previous one so the reduction of swelling was not as noticable.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb