Volunteering Day IV


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Orphanage ClassOrphanage ClassOrphanage Class

My English class from the orphanage.
Off alone to my classes. Claudette almost chipper but still couldn't face the dust and fumes of the tuk tuk rides to the schools. It was tearful for me to say goodbye to my students. I enjoyed their entusiasm and motivation to learn. I wish them well. I am not sure that they understood that I will not be returning. I almost wish I could stay longer and help these orphans secure a life for themselves.

I have made a donation to dig a well in one of the outlying villages.

My afternoon class was also tearful. These older students know that I am not returning and wished me good luck. They are very excited because their computers are being installed today and they were frequently glancing over at the other side of the room to track the progress. For most, this will be a new experience. The young monks seemed the most pumped.

I returned to my favorite beer joint, the Angkor Famous for my last happy hour. They saw me coming from down the street. Today I got the choice seat under the fan!

Guess I will go looking for an Indian restaurant for supper.
Temple ClassTemple ClassTemple Class

My English class from Wat Thmei.
I hope I can find the place again that served a 5 course meal for $5.

Off tomorrow for a 5 hour boat ride to the capital, Phnom Phen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Gardener's RetreatGardener's Retreat
Gardener's Retreat

A dry and shady rest area for the B&B grounds crew.
NeighboursNeighbours
Neighbours

The neighbours across the fence from Journeys-Within.


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb