"Burma" myanamar


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Eastern Burma » Tachileik
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

monkmonkmonk

Burmese "monk"
Ok, so I was in Burma for just a day to renew my Thailand visa but i am sure I will be having many more Blogs from Thailand and I probably won't make it back to Burma (though I would like to). Burma was kind of nice, but I only experienced a border town. Burma is much poorer than Thailand and you know it the minute you cross the bridge into Burma (i know it is called myanamar now but the people are still Burmese). But this is nice, fewer tourist, more raw and more "real" than some places. I wished I had the time to explore it a little more. The trouble is you can't go into Burma overland (well just to three towns you can) due to government regulations. It is a military government and it doesn't treat its' people very well.
CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS FROM BURMA



Speaking of Burmese, i have several photos of Burmese living in Thailand. There are long neck karens, big ear karens, red karens, blue karens, white karens (the color is for the color of their clothes). See if you can see who is who in the following photo galleries: CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS OF HILL TRIBE PEOPLE OUTSIDE OF CHIANG MAI

CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS FROM AROUND MAE HONG SONG


I spent a little time traveling in Northern Thailand and it is very nice. People are nice, food is great (and cheap) and it hasn't been as hot as I thought it was going to be. I am currently in back in Chaing Mai taking a 8 day Tai chi Chaun class. After the class I may head to Cambodia to Angor Wat before the big hoards of people go starting in November (I am sure it will be packed anyway). If I don't go to Cambodia after the class I may go to Laos, still not sure what my plans are and I am sure they will change anyway.

I will keep this blog short because i have a few more photo galleries and will be sending out another blog soon.

Cheers,



Dave





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

girlgirl
girl

In Burma the women and kids put "gold paste" on thier faces, a kind of make-up if you will
BudahsBudahs
Budahs

hte swastikas on the Budahs are not Nazi swastikas. you find this symbol in many ancient cultures including native americans


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb