Just back from the ice!


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
February 5th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow. What a trip. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to go to Antarctica, I just recommend you do it. It has been the most amazing time. Everything is bigger, better and brighter than I ever imagined. A truly awesome experience being surrounded by ice and mountains that served to remind me of just how small I am in the big wide world.
Internet time is limited so I´m just going to go ahead and list my Top 5 experiences.
1 Having a humpback whale swim under me when I was out kayaking by myself
2 Watching a leopard seal hunt a crabeater seal (admittedly I did have my eyes shut for a bit of it as I was a bit scared for the poor crabeater seal, he got away thankfully...)
3 Watching the most stunning sunset over the icebergs while drinking a cosmopolitan
4 Watching an iceberg calve in front of me and feeling the waves nearly push my kayak over
5 Sitting by myself surrounded by ice and listening to it crackle and almost breathe

Oh, and when we crossed the Antarctic circle I wore a bikini. It just had to be done.
News and photos to follow!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Penguins and PeoplePenguins and People
Penguins and People

Can you spot the difference?


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb