Kibera Day 1


Advertisement
Africa
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have made it. The feeling of walking off that jet and being in Africa is something I can not explain. My heart felt something....it was the peace of being safe and being somewhere that I have wanted to be for so long. I run for the "choo" and almost walk into the mens room by mistake....a lady giggles and points me to the ladies room. Then I get in this line full of all of us from the jet who need a our Visa. $50 later I have one...welcome to Nairobi. Once out I see my suitcases (what a relief) and then my name on a sign board.....it is Jeff's family friend Godfrey and then another sign board and two more smiley faces...Dan and his friend Chris. Dan Ogola has many projects he does in the rural and in Kibera. One is CSG and another one is Helping Hands plus Matibabu Foundation. He lived in the slums of Kibera and he has such insight and his heart is as big as the Pacific Ocean.

I am so thankful for him and his family. I have been eating some new foods and enjoying chai each day. This afternoon we walked around Kibera for 4 hours. It was amazing. The people have smiles on their faces and they are all so busy. There are lots of things being sold everywhere. You can get a car stereo or a new pair of shoes. My favorite part of the day has been the children. When they see me they yell "mzungu" (for white person) and then came running towards me and asked "how are you" They all do this. The children just want to touch your hand or your skin and ask how are you. I reply I am fine, how are you....sometimes I am good...how are you. When entering the school area....it was my first moment to be around the children and it was such an amazing moment. I have never felt anything like it before. All the children came to me at once to touch me and surrounded me, I was in the center and they are asking, how are you...how are you....in the cutest little sing-song voices. I answer each one. My smile is so big and Dan says he can tell I am so happy. I am! The beauty here is something I have never before seen. There is so much they do not have in this area but they smile as if they have it all.

Children also love for you to take their picture. That is so fun. They smile so big and pose if they are holding something. I am so thankful I brought my poloroid. There is an excitement that I may never see again when you hand a child who has never had a picture of themselves one. One kept laughing at his picture, another took it running to show his mother in the most excited way I have ever seen. This is so much for my heart to know.

Read more about Kibera if you have not. There is so much we can do. Let's do it.

I miss you all and want you to know I am in great hands. Mother you can sleep soundly. And Amelia I hope you are not too lonely at the house.....I will be back....until then take care and remember to feed the plants.



Advertisement



6th October 2006

Sounds like you are having fun with the children!
This is amazing. You made it. make it worth your while and enjoy yourself as much as you can. You are a special being! God bless you, Amy!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb