Kibera Here I Come


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
September 30th 2006
Published: September 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Tuesday October 3, 2006 at 8:45am my jet leaves for Nairobi. I will first go to Minneapolis, MN and then from there spend over 8 hours in flight to Amsterdam. I have almost 4 hours to regroup and then back in the jet to go another 8 hours all the way to Nairobi, Kenya. I will arrive Wednesday night at 7:10pm. My friend Japeth's family will be sending their nephew to meet me at the airport along with a new friend I have made, Dan Olga. Dan started Seed Junior Academy, an organization for disadvantaged children in the slums of Kibera. This is where I will be going. I want to spend the first couple weeks of my time in Kibera. I feel there is a lot of outreach I can do here. Especially HIV/AIDS education.

As of right now I do not know what to expect. I have so many feelings and thoughts swirling inside my head. I am so excited and overwhelmed that I am actually going to Africa.....I have waited so long. The next time I find a chance to write it will be from Kenya.


Advertisement



2nd October 2006

it's just the beginning
My sweet sister. What can I say? I am so happy for you. I can't believe this will be the only way I can see how you are. Please promise you will do your best to contact/update. I know it may be impossible at times...I understand and FEAR that very much. I will look forward to every chance as your journey unfolds, and when you get back to listen with the eyes and ears of a child as you teach us all. You are my best friend forever and ever- always across the miles and oceans. I love you.
2nd October 2006

Best Wishes To My Love Dove
Hi MY Amy Jo, Just thinking about you this morning, the day before your trip. I pray your trip will be everything you are hoping for. I do admire your efforts and love for the people in Africa. I just know you will touch lives in a positive way. I will keep you in my prayers and look forward to any messages at this site. This is a cool idea to communicate. You thought of everything. :) I love you sweet daughter. Have a wonderful journey and I will talk to you soon. I Love you, MOM
2nd October 2006

Good Luck!
Amy, Good luck! I am proud of you for doing such good humanitarian work. post photos if you can ;-)
11th October 2006

Go get em
My courageous big sister! You never seize to amaze me. I'm super excited to hear all about everything. I will be thinking of you of course and will be awaiting your SAFE return! Hope you get to take lots of cool pics! Be safe and know your lil sista loves you very much!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb