Sleeping is the only Love


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I believe the jet-lag has set in. It is the end of my second full day. I am so exhausted and sleeping has not been easy. Today was spent in Nairobi. I have been in Dan's office working with two other gals who are volunteering as well. One is from CA and one from Canada. We are putting together from scratch a waste management program. Kibera needs this more then ever. No garbage pick up for almost one million people as you can imagine is a nightmare. (not to mention no sewage disposal). Walking through Kibera you step over the streams of sewage and the garbage is everywhere. But there is no program in place for the people of Kibera. Some have tried and many have failed. One area has started to have some success, but even that is only one small area.

This project will start with us creating a firm foundation. It will be hard to help communicate our ideas to the people of Kibera. They feel that if we are doing something it must be making us money. We have to help them see that this is for them. We want this to be their project, we only want to help faciliate it. Many of your donations have gone directly to this. We are working on cleaning up the slum so there can be less disease. I saw piles of garbage covered in human waste and children actually playing in it. This is how disease like typhoid is spread.

On another note, I have woken up by 4:30 or 5am each morning to the sound of these chants or prayers to music. It was loud and reminded me of the military for some reason....like a wake up call through the loud speaker. It goes on for 45 minutes or so. I inquired and found out that there is a large Muslim population in Kibera and this is the time known as Ramadan. During this time they pray and fast. I believe the music is some type of remembrance of this. The first night I was very startled by it and had no idea what was going on outside...I mean, it was still dark out....who could possibly be up? After this morning I feel I am getting used to it.

As for the bathroom....or lack of. I am thankful to have one at Dan's home. He and his family are so generous. The water is randomly turned off and that is always a delight to discover just before you are about to brush your teeth or wash your face. Even in public this happens. Today I have not be able to wash my hands and it feels awful....and for me that is only one day. I can't imagine how it must feel to go so many with out. In Kibera the "latrines" are not even as nice as an out house. I have pictures to show when I return. Basically you have an area that has coverage and you just squat and go. Most of it will run down the side of a hill and into the other streams of raw sewage.

On yet, another note the avocados here are amazing! They are so large and so fresh...we have nothing like it in the states.



Advertisement



6th October 2006

You are amazing!
Amy, it sounds like you are in great hands and all is going to be fine. You are amazing to be doing this work and to be sharing your journey with your friends and relatives. It sounds like a strange dream - such a mixture of incredibly beautiful (like the people and the music) and incredibly dreadful (like the garbage and sewage). Be well and be careful. You are in my thoughts. (And all at ALG send their warm wishes and greetings.)
7th October 2006

You did it!
Hi my Amy Jo. You did it, you are in Africa. Your journal comments were so interesting to read. I am so proud of you. I am thanking God for getting you there safely. Praise the Lord. I was just telling Dave tonight that it is weird to realize that you were "flying through the air" many mile away and are now in AFRICA! It is hard to imagine such poverty as you describe, worse than our own here. It is sad to think anyone should suffer. I wish all could have at least the necessities of life. I know you will come away from there with a wisdom and a compassion many will never know. That is a good thing. I pray right now Amy, that this will be everything that you want it to be and much will be accomplished. You are a brave soul! This is very exciting and I will look forward to your next entry. Sending my love to you all the way from Shadyside Ohio. Take Care my beautiful daughter. Mom P.S. wear those boots! :)
11th October 2006

towelette, m'am?
hiya amy- ongratulations on arriving. glad to hear you are safe and sound. this is a wonderful vehicle for communicating, i am so glad you found it. i imagine the details of designing the garbage disposal project to be overwhelming, as well as the total overload of your senses (all of them!) - try to be in the moment, three cheers for being able to enjoy chai!, and remember to breathe although perhaps with the aid of some yummy essential oil or avocado :) sending you (and all who are there helping make your trip possible and safe) light, love, peace, joy and hugs! xo, sus.
13th October 2006

So proud of you
Oh Amy. It has been so long since I've seen/ talked to/ or even heard about what you've been up to. I have to say I am so incredibly proud of what you are doing. I wish I could be there along side you. Stay safe and stay positive. Can I send you some handiwipes? But then I guess where would they end up after you used them?
13th October 2006

So proud #2
Forgot to tell you that was me, Karyn. Remember, from the Soap Opera? I'm Karyn Carr now though, not Barnes anymore. Gosh I miss those soy chai latte's on chilly winter days!
14th October 2006

Hi
Hi Amy Jo, Just a note to say I am thinking of you and sending you my love, MOM.
30th October 2006

The Angel you are!
Shine baby Shine! Let the Amy spirit resonate into the souls of those who are so lucky to enjoy your smile and laugh. Infect them with your love, spirit and laughter as you have done to all of us. Love you and am thinking of you doll!!! Pk

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb