A Bit of A Rant With a Happy Ending


Advertisement
Africa
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Africa is starting to make me bitter.I did not see this coming and quite frankly I do not know why I let things get to me so much. Men whistling and hissing at me like I am a piece of meat, dala dala drivers grabbing my arm and forcefully pulling me into their car as if I don't know where I am going, and mothers coming up to me as if I owe them something because of the color of my skin. When they see my skin I automatically draw everyone's attention. I am white. But why does the color my skin equal money, and make me worthy of something more? I hate it. Many times while having been here I get upset at this idea. In fact while walking down the street, having experienced all of this before noon, as well as almost being hit by a dala dala who didn't have the decency to at least honk to tell me he was coming onto the side walk behind me,something caught my attention across the street. A song. An American song in English (rare). A christian song very familiar to me. I Will Praise You in This Storm by Casting Crowns I think it is. A sweet, sweet romance between my savior and I. A symbol that God hears me in my storm. A breath of relief that I do not control my own life.

I pray that these people know how much they are worth to my king. Because in eternity the color of our skin will not matter.

I will rejoice in that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb