My Sweet Girl


Advertisement
Africa
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Waking up this morning I had no idea what was in store for me today. Physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

To begin, I started the day early, and after having breakfast I headed out the door expecting to reach the orphanage in one hour. As usual, I bought a treat for my special friends that I pass daily. As I approached the pair on the side of the street we were both eager to see each other. I handed my sweet young friend her "peanuts with honey" and told her she was beautiful. I started talking about Jesus and the "grandma" didn't understand me so she motioned for a man whom was just passing by to come and translate. I took the opportunity to learn more about my friends. From what I gathered, the girl who I have grown to love is three years old, her name is Miriam, and all of her relatives are deceased. The older woman whom I believe to be about 60 takes care of her, by begging for money on the street until evening. The woman has a husband at home, (a one room house with one bed), who cannot walk so he spends most of his time there.

After learning all of this, I felt God telling me to take the little girl for a few hours, to the orphanage where I work. That way she could have some healthy interactions with other kids, some of my favorite kids in fact! I asked the man to translate that for me and the "grandma" agreed. Before taking the little girl I talked with the man. He proceeded to tell me that he was a pastor and worked at a school. When I heard those words I rejoiced in the fact that my savior had sent this man, George, to help one of his children. I thanked George and shortly after, Miriam and I were on our way.

Many emotions filled me as I was hand in hand with this sweet little one. Feelings of did I do the right thing? What if the "grandma" is gone when I return? Am I responsible enough to be looking after another life besides my own in crazy Arusha? But luckily God whispered to me that everything good comes from him, and not to doubt his ways. That quickly silenced all of my doubts.

She was timid at first. The language barrier made things tricky. But thankfully laughter took us over quickly. As we walked through the field to the orphanage she began trying to whistle. I then mimicked her and she broke out in laughter. The best sound ever. The cutest thing Ive ever heard! We quickly approached the door to the orphanage and I wondered how the other children would react to a new face. They were so excited! They ran to get her a sucker from a pile of candy that another volunteer had brought that day. One of my favorite little ones at the orphanage named Vero, became fast friends with Miriam. It was adorable. I could not have asked for anything more! I fact, Miriam was wearing a covering over her hair and Vero grabbed a piece of fabric to have me tie around her head. She has such a sweet, welcoming heart!

After we played awhile it was time to take Miriam back to her "grandma". We said our goodbyes and the kids looked confused, seeming to ask "where is our new friend going?", with their eyes. We waived goodbye and were on our way. On the dala dala, a short walk up the hill, and there we were. Miriam seemed to recognize the general vicinity of where we were and she quickly let go of my hand and led the way to her "grandma". Still in the same spot we had left her. The "grandma" saw us coming and started clapping, smiling, and sing a song of joy. It was a picture perfect moment. I will never forget her reaction to seeing her precious "baby". It showed me the love they had for one another, which I quickly gathered as they embraced each other with a tight hug. It made my heart smile.

Its days like this where I believe that Jesus allows his children to get a glimpse of heaven. I will forever rejoice in these sweet memories that God laid out so perfectly.

May many more come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb