On My Way... Finally!


Advertisement
Africa
July 21st 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday, July 1, 2011

Pearson International Airport, Toronto.

Knowing that the storm clouds of emotion would soon settle over Terminal 3, I approached the British Airways counter with my E-Ticket in hand. The kind woman working there upgraded me to Business Class. I think she knew there was thunder in the distance and things were going to get ugly for me very soon.

Mom, my sisters Laurie & Sandy, and my niece Regan grabbed one last meal together at Swiss Chalet. Little did I know that this would be the precursor to a new life of chicken and rice for the next two years (more about the food in Tanzania later). Following dinner, it was time for the long walk to the gate.

Now I know how Sean Penn felt in “Dead Man Walking”… While I was excited to get on with this new chapter in my life (and Business Class), a sense of sadness came over me as I was about to say good-bye to my loved ones for a long time. Sure there would be phone calls and Skype, but nothing can replace the ability to lean over and hug someone, have tea with them, raid the cookie cupboard, or solve the world's problems over a bag of Miss Vicki’s chips and a diet pepsi.

After a tear-stained goodbye that was peppered with the odd humourous remark to break the tension, I was through the gate and heading to Africa!

I am still getting choked up while writing this one…. It’s time to end this and tell you about my stopover in London, England.

Oh, by the way, Business Class is brilliant. Next time, I will flirt more and get First Class. They have beds up there!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0152s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb