London Calling!


Advertisement
Africa
July 21st 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, July 2, 2011

I had a good night's rest after putting on my night socks, earplugs, eye mask and headphones. I completely looked like someone who got upgraded! Oh well, it’s not like they are gonna see me again soon.

We landed in London without incident and I immediately called my friend Collin who lives there with his partner, Paul. Collin and I worked with each other when I l lived in New York City back in the 90’s (God, I am sounding old when I say stuff like that). I jumped on the Express train out of Heathrow, transferred to the Tube and was in Soho before I knew it.

I met him near St. Martin In The Fields Church, just across from Trafalgar Square. We grabbed a couple of pints and then made our way into the streets of Soho. I only had a couple of hours as I had to get back for the second leg of my journey.

Much to my surprise, it was Pride in London. We wandered the streets, took in the sights and sounds, and before I knew it it was time to head back to Heathrow.

I made my connection and tried to sleep all the way to Dar es Salaam. No Business Class this time. I don’t have that much luck.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb