We Are Family! (Sorry For The Bad Disco Reference


Advertisement
Africa
July 20th 2011
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, June 18, 2011:

Heron Point Golf & Country Club, Ancaster, Ontario

For those of you who know the area, Heron Point Golf Club is located at the old Dunmark Park in Alberton (on your way to Brantford)

Hosted by my sisters, Patty and Sandy, the night was perfect!

I travelled in from Toronto with my friends , Aoife (I still love this woman!) and my best childhood friend, Phil Dugas. Phil and I played T-Ball together. Our team was the Cubs. If I have to be totally honest, he was a much better at baseball. While he played shortstop, I sang songs and wore my glove on my head in right field… For those of you who unfamiliar with baseball, very few people hit the ball to right field… especially when the batter is 8 years old! Anyway, Phil comes from a large family as do I. Between the Dugas’, the Haleys, the McHughs, and the Moss’, we filled the church every Sunday. It was that kind of small town where everyone knew everyone and anyone’s parent could yell at you for doing something stupid. Sorry, I digress..

Phil was like the 10th kid in our family. He was an altar boy at my sister Catharine’s wedding. She couldn’t decide on who should be up on the altar. Phil won out. I had a nice seat in the choir loft. Seriously, Phil and I were the altar boys and I am glad he could make it to the family dinner. It is only right that he was there.

Heron Point is a beautiful location. The evening started with cocktails at 530PM and then the nachos showed up. I love nachos. There have been many nacho parties in the family over the years. My sister, Laurie and I have a standing date for nachos whenever we can sync our schedules. There are no nachos here in Africa. Maybe I will start a side business.

In addition to family and friends, my cousin Denise and her husband, Bob Cooling came from Peterborough. Pauline Jodry, a one-time next door neighbour, and dear friend of the family joined in the festivities as well. My friends, Nerene Virgin and her husband, Al Smith also were there. Nerene and Al have been such amazing friends to me over the years. I can’t say enough about them, so I won’t even try.

Dinner was a barbecue, country club style. It was the perfect meal for a warm summer evening.

After dinner, my sister Laurie spoke on behalf of the siblings. Her son, my godson, Alex spoke on behalf of the nieces and nephews. Man, it was tough fighting back the tears! My sister, Mary Catharine sent me off in grand style with a powerful salute. Thanks to all for going out of your comfort zones to speak publicly. I know it wasn’t easy.

Again, thanks to Patty and Sandy for making all the arrangements. It was a great event that I will not soon forget.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



26th July 2011

Seriously Funny
Bob, I've been working backward on your blogs. Guess I should have gone chronologically but then I was never one for doing things easy. God, I loved this one the best! Loved the image of you in right field, singing with the glove on you head. You were still doing that at the Health Network! And especially loved the pics of your family. Such a beautiful group! You, my friend, are a very rich man and bless beyond comprehension. I am lucky to be able to call you a friend of mine. But hey, I'm pissed off I didn't get one invitation! Love ya.

Tot: 0.603s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb