Edith Wakumire


Advertisement
Africa
July 30th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Uganda. Just needed to write a little about what I am learning about the next place I am going to (in about a week and a half) and the founder, Edith Wakumire. I knew a little about her story from my first trip here in 2007, but this week I have finished reading a book written about her, and if you can get a copy and want to learn more about where I am going and what life is like for a Ugandan woman, please check out "Small feet, High mountain" by Margeret Spivey, UK. To be honest, it made my heart very heavy, and somedays I wonder if these things we learn will break us or make us stronger. I know I am in a unique position here to have so much free time, with no worries of work or home or responsibilities. i hope when I come home, I will make time to invest in the things that are meaningful to me, and not become so disctracted by my job (that was totally my choice/excuse). Basically, the book tells of Edith's life story, and the things and people she has met along the way. She had all odds stacked against her since birth, and yet has devoted her life to helping other people, especially the girl child. The book helped me to better understand the life of the girl child in Uganda, and it traditionally is not good. Not only does the girl traditionally have less value than farm animals, she has had no rights or voice in her own life. She is basically property of her family, until a man wants to marry her, then pays a dowry to her family, and she is given to him. If he dies or divorces her, her life becomes a struggle because she literally gets nothing-no home, resources, and often support. Things are slowly changing for the women here, but tradition and ignorance makes the change slow. A girl is so vulnerable to men here, and we all know how men with no self-control can behave. After reading Edith's story and what she has faced, i understand why she is so passionate to help girls and women. I am so grateful i live in a country where I have value and a voice, and I am not subject to any mans wants of me. I am saddened that even in this day and age, women still have to struggle to have the right over their own physical body. I can't imagine. I am eager to learn more and do what i can to help, but I am also scared for what I may learn. This is so different than my life as I know it.

Advertisement



2nd August 2010

deb deb debbie deb
Your value is beyond measure. It saddens me that someone with such a bleeding heart gets to see and experience so much reality but I know God put you there because you feel it and when one feels it one responds. You have been gi en a very special opportunity and I pray you are part of a wonderful change for the women in Uganda. Love you Deb! Love love love you Deb!
5th August 2010

These things will make you stronger!
Sounds like you are learning about some hurtful things - and I can understand why you would be scared to learn more. But keep on pressing on - you are stronger than you realize, and its your personal strength and compassion that can help to change the world around you. Keep up the good work - I believe in you!

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb