Last Day in Tororo


Advertisement
Africa
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick blog to let you all know I am moving on to Mbale tomorrow to the Uganda Women's Concern Ministry. Excited and nervous. Excited for the next learning curve to begin. Nervous for the things I might be exposed to. This organization provides services to people in very difficult life situations. Expect that it will be hard for my heart, but eager to continue to grow and learn. Know that is the ultimate point of this journey. Read a quote- If God brings you to it, He will bring you through.

Just a quick comment about a conversation I had recently here. I think one of the biggest things I've learned here is to appreciate my country and freedoms. I asked a man here to help me understand why it is "every" Africans dream to come to America. He said basically, when they think of America, they see something special, and they just want to experience it. I think I mentioned before, that the love America, but loved it even more when we elected Obama. One- because his dad was from Kenya, and two- because they saw true democracy in action. That even if Bush or others didn't want a "black" president, they still handed over the power without violence or corruption. So I just want us all to be grateful for all the privledges we have. How sad to hear these people long for a life of opportunity, freedom, safety, luxury, education, everything one could want and more, and to think in my mind, I rarely appreciate cuz it's all I've ever known.

Advertisement



10th August 2010

So true we take for granted great liberties, because we've never had to give anything for them. Some fight for this country and lay down their lives, others are family of these people. The majority of us just live our lives ignorant of the toll, or even the great privileges we experience.
11th August 2010

Keep up the good work!
Deb, we miss you so much, and are so proud of the work you are doing! When I think of you I worry for your safety, cause the world is a scary place, but I know that you are smart and strong and are capable of anything you put your mind to. The face that you put your mind to helping others and to creating a better world for people on another continent shows that you are compassionate beyond measure. You are a shining light setting an example for all of us!
22nd August 2010

deb deb debbie deb
Deb deb debbie deb. Keepin it silly for this one. You remember the time you took care of my place when I went on the trip to Memphis, well guess what girl I got your pad the next 6 weeks. Jus me and yo kitties..... mmmmmm O the possibilities. We gonna party!! Hope life is well and time is passin, Benny calls, luv ya!!!
23rd August 2010

deb deb debbie deb
Hey girl lond time no update. We wonder what your travels are entailing. Excited to hear about your travels with Dena. Stopped in to see Briar on saturday and got the411 on kitty poopin scoopin, they were both laying on Briars bed and lookin cool and cozy when I went downstairs. Sorry that i cant call you from my phone. Brian says that no one is calling you and that upsets you. We love you Deb, life is just very busy here in the US. But dont ever doubt your importance to all the people that you have left behind. I will try to call from dad's phone sometime soon. Love yah Deb deb debbie deb! Take care sissy and we are prayin for yah!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb