Middle week 4 in Tororo


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region
July 21st 2010
Published: July 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Uganda! After three + weeks here by myself, I am finally feeling like I'm getting the hang of life in Uganda. I am continued to be amazed at the ways we are the same, and the ways that we are different. I guess the point is, we are all human. We have families, friends, hopes and dreams, disappointments and failures, life lessons to learn, and things to be grateful for. At this point I think the biggest difference is the opportunities that we have. Here, the chance of getting a job is slim (of an annual 360,000 college graduates, there are only 80,000 jobs available). So even if you are educated, good luck putting your skills to use. And the people that get jobs don't want to ever give them up, especially in politics. I am learning so much about how life here works. One of the things I have been amazed by is how tough/strong these people are! They are used to a hard life, and don't complain or cry over their realities. Nearly everyday, someone here has had someone in their life die. At school yesterday, one of the teachers shared she was gone to attend the funeral of a 14 year old student who died of AIDS. That is life here. As we talk about the bombing and people who were killed, and everyday the newspaper writes about some dead body or child found, the people don't cry, even though I know their hearts are heavy. It has made my skin a little thicker, and I feel silly and simple for having cried about missing my cats! Perhaps the thing I have had to adjust to the most (besides being the only white person nearly all of the time) is the fact that Ugandans/Africans have this concept of American's as being RICH. And because of this, the way they respond when they see one!!! I am getting used to strangers stopping and asking me for money, but was surprised the other day while walking with my host dad-Jimmy. A man on a bike (a pastor) saw us and turned around to come where we were and nearly fell as he was excitedly climbing off his bike. He also tipped the big bag of produce or something off the back rack, his bike fell over, and he could hardly wait to come talk to us. He shook my hand and introduced himself to me, and then told me he loves Jesus. He then invited me to his church, and Jimmy responded if there was time. After riding off, Jimmy explained that it is like tradition here for a pastor to invite any white person to their church in hopes of us sharing some of our millions with them. I guess if you are white and want to feel famous/important, come to Uganda. Anyway, I am learning a lot, and started a leadership training class at my host family's church. we are talking about having a vision for your life, and using your God given talents. We discussed the different types of leaders, and considered what category I fall into. For now, to close this blog, I want to encourage all my peeps back home to think about the vision you have for your life, and to challenge you to use the unique talents you have been given. Let us not go through life just trying to get through the day, but rather live life like it matters, because then it will. Tell the people you love that you love them (especially you people with children) and don't assume you will have the chance tomorrow. I could not be here without all of you back home supporting me, and your words of encouragement have been a source of strength for me. Many of you have inspired me to live as though I have no fear, and to have a dream and pursue it. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

Advertisement



21st July 2010

awe. debra you are such a great women! i'm enjoying hearing about all the things you struggle with while being there as well as the things yoru learning, its encouraging for the rest of us back here to get a prospective on the outside world( meaning outside of our country and comfort zones). I know i MISS YOU LIKE CRAZYY!! and i'm sure everyone else misses you jsut as much. keep your head up and keep doing good for those people there. they are very lucky to have someone like you there to encourage them. Can't wait for your next update!!! love yoU!
22nd July 2010

God's after you
Debra, your blog entry gave me goosebumps! Doesn't strike you as even a little bit strange that, even as far away as Uganda, you are surrounded by people who love the Lord? This doesn't happen to everyone, you know that, right?? God is pursuing you because He LOVES you!! Where do you stand these days on accepting the gift He offers?
26th July 2010

deb deb debbie deb
Oh Deb how crazy you would write this as the last several days I have been thinking about the bigger picture and what can I do to make it as great as I can> You are such an inspiration to me and I love you ohhhhhhhh so much! I know that you are being challenged but don't think your tender heart is silly, its you and we love it. It is sad that people have to be hardened to lifes struggles, we are very fortunate to not have to share much in that. I am grateful for my place and my healthy family, and pray you continue to be under God's great covering. Be blessed sis and I love hearing from you!!!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb