My Last Weeks in Kenya


Advertisement
Africa
May 14th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!~

Wow, has it been a wonderful last few weeks. I can't believe I haven't written since April, and it's already May 14th! Many other volunteers have came and went during my stay here, and I am now the last one remaining from the original crew I arrived with. I get really sad when I realize my time here is quickly coming to an end. So I try not to think about it. I am just enjoying the swing of things here now... it's real life now. It used to be sort of surreal to know that I was actually here in Africa, but now its just my life. No longer am I trying to figure things out, I'm used to how things work and although my days are never the same, they are much more predictable than when I first arrived.

Now, when I walk through the market, people know my name! ( My Kenyan name of course) They smile and wave and say "Nekesa, how are you?" -- And rumor has it that the people here in Kabula like me a lot ... they are saying "She is different than other Mzungu people here." ( Mzungu= white person) I think they are saying that because I actually hangout with them and chat with them... instead of just walking by. (And also because I am regularly in the company of African friends, rather than other Mzungu's) I love how friendly everyone is here... no one is ever to busy to properly greet someone and talk a while. It's comforting. I have made several good friends here, who are from Kabula.... I spend most of my time with them. I like being on the farm with the other ICODEI volunteers, but since I've been here so much longer than any of them ... I prefer spending time with the people I have come to know so much better. (The other ICODEI volunteers all have only been here about 3 weeks, but I've been here almost 9 weeks now)

I taught at St. Teresa's this week and I have my last lesson today. I have been teaching CRE ( Christian Religious Education) to the form 2 class. It is wonderful! I enjoy teaching about the Lord without having to be "politically correct" or worried I might say the wrong thing. This week my lessons have been about the parables and today I'm teaching about Miracles and the Mighty works of God. Yesterday I taught a Life Skills lesson to the entire student body. There were over 470 students there-- all eyes on me. Yikes! I was a bit nervous, Haha, but it went really well! It's really hard to explain how it feels to have 470something students, all wearing school uniforms and ties, watching you without making a sound, taking in every word you say... its a bit unbelievable really... but so awesome!

A few weeks ago we held registration day at the school we built up & got started! It was wonderful to see the children and their families so excited for education! Since then I went back to visit and got to observe and help out with a lesson. The students are so happy to have tables and benches now! They actually have notebooks and pencils and story books, and charts on the wall to learn from!! Their school actually looks like a school!~! The little we did to help made such a huge difference to the lives of those children.... it is just indescribably wonderful! I want to send out a special thanks to the faculty and staff of IRELAND ELEMENTARY School and anyone else who donated school supplies! It is being well used!

Lastly--- My sister Hannah, along with Jeremy, and Tyler are coming to Kabula this Sunday! I'm very excited for their arrival and in fact I've been busy setting up our agenda for their time here.... They will be very busy & hopefully they'll love their trip as much as I have!

Take care and God Bless You all!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb