Getting Settled


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province » Bungoma
April 29th 2010
Published: April 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Family & Friends!!!

I hope this finds you well!! Thank you all for following me and reading my Blog!!! My experience here has been wonderful! Sorry I haven't written in a while! My life here has been unbelievably busy! I don't even know where to start.. I've done so much since I've written last!'

This past Sunday Lauren and I went to Church with a neighboring family! They are very young and very nice, I talk with them daily. We went to the beautiful big church, and the service was nice. The singing is so beautiful- everything is done so simply... drums and voice... ah I can't explain it! After church, Lauren and I went to the market and got some supplies and then returned to cook for them an American Meal!' We cooked an array of American foods for them to try... it was really fun!! Our menu was limited because without electricity everything has to be prepared over a fire and hot coals! Thankfully, I've done some camp cooking before! We made spicy salsa, guacamole, toast, Monkey Bread, Mac & Cheese, roasted potatoes, and Chapatti. ( OKay, so Chapatti is a Kenyan food.. but its just good! ) Anyway, we laughed and cooked for about 4 hours before everything was done! In the mean while a crowd of children from the community started gathering.. they we intrigued to see Mzungu's working... ( Mzungu = white person) Anyway, we ended up feeding close to 20 people that day! Everyone enjoyed and everyone was full ! It was awesome!! They really enjoyed the food... but they were shocked by the spicy salsa.. their mouths were on fire and it was quite funny... Whoops I guess we should have warned them!

It seems like each day I am here, I am getting invited to another persons home to visit or share a meal... its so nice! I've met so many wonderful people!! People remember my name and when I go to the market people know me.... its such a neat feeling. To be a part of a community like this... such a tight family.

Oh yes, my family! I don't know if I've mentioned it, but I have quite a family here is Kenya. Not better than my wonderful family at home, but pretty close!! I have 11 brothers and sisters!!!! ( Not including other volunteers who have become like family to me) ... My African siblings' ages range from 11 years old to about 32 years old. There is always someone around to spend time with and we really do treat each other like family! It's so nice!!'

Last week at St. Teresa's I taught CRE ( Christian Religions ) to Form 4. It was awesome!! After my lesson they would beg me to stay longer and teach them more... they are so open and they want to learn so much its so wonderful! Of course I stayed and continued our discussion! The topics I got to cover were Christian views on law, order, and justice as well as How modern science and Technology has impacted our world and what the Christian view is on it, and lastly- Families & Marriages. We compared traditional African beliefs with today's modern beliefs. The discussion got very deep and the students we so into it!! They even thanked me after! Haha!! I love teaching here!!! It's so rewarding!!!

This week we have been off teaching, because it is another break before Term 2 begins. We have been working hard on our Nursery School project in Mequoa. ( Near Harambee, a community near Kabula) OUr group has empowered the community there to come together to build up their school!! Before we started they were learning with only 6 borrowed benches and a dirt floor with a 3-walled school. We helped construct a wall in the school and built and put in a door. We also built 6 tables and benches to go with them! This little school needed a boost and we thought it was a perfect service project! We bought the teacher a curriculum guide and syllabus so that she could be teaching to the Kenyan Standards! We also assisted the school with a large amount of school supplies-- like notebooks, pencils, books, etc. They are so grateful! Aside from just giving objects... we also conducted a teacher training day. Several community members came to learn how to teach so that they can come and help volunteer their time at the school with only one teacher. We gave them some new teaching methods and philosophy's and they taught us a few things too! It was amazing!!!! Friday is registration day for the students at their NEW SCHOOL!! I'm excited to see how it all goes!!~


I could write for days... but I must stop now. God Bless and Take Care!~


P.S. I've put many more pictures on facebook... check them out!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb