It's been a while...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province » Bungoma
February 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello! It is now, February... I've been wanting to continue to post on this blog throughout my time back in the U.S. but I just now figured out how to do so again!

So much has happened since I've been back in the U.S. It's not been easy, but what has kept me going strong is God and the fact that I'm able to return to Kabula summer 2011, which is now only 3 months away!'

After ariving home from Africa in May, I experienced quite a bit of reverse culture shock. I hated it here in the U.S. No one knew it, but I cried daily for about 6 weeks. Some days were better than others. That summer I worked at Terre Haute Parks & Rec. Summer Day Camp. It was so much fun! At some point in July, I got a Job interveiw with the Walker Career Center/WCHS in Indianapolis and was hired to begin teaching August 1st. It was a busy summer to say the least!

I love teaching high school here in Indy. I enjoy working everyday. I also have kept in close contact with two friends who stayed in Kenya with me in the Spring. - Hope and Adam. They live in Indy, so we hang out a lot and have so much fun! Through it all, I continue to miss Kenya.

I thank God daily that I am able to keep in such close contact with everyone I met there... I call over to Kenya about 3 times a week. Talking to Jarson, Nangella, Guadencia, Rodah, Sylvanis, Mr. Mahketi, Peter, the Lubanga's, and sometimes my students.

I have been searching plane ticket prices all morning! It's going to be an expensive trip, but I can't think of anything else I'd want to spend that money on.

I have lots of plans for this summer.... mosly visiting people and having fun but I also want to continue working with St. Elizabeth's Nursery School and St. Teresa's Kabula. I am hoping to do lots of hands-on research this summer that will help lead me to my future plans. I am not sure yet where God wants me or what He has in mind... but I trust him and am excited to find out!

I'm going to try to post more often from here on out!' Take Care!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb