My Departure!


Advertisement
Africa
August 18th 2009
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kwa Heri!

I am now sitting at the Dar Salaam airport waiting for my flight. The ferry ride this morning was even worse than the ride to zanzibar, despite the fact that i sneaked into an empty first class seat. I showered this morning but im already dirty from ocean water spraying into m face and hair as i leaned over the edge of the boat in quiet desperation. the rushing air and water did help, but all hope of walking off the plane like a beautiful white african to greet my family has been abandoned due to my knotty, salty hair.

Zanzibar is a wonderful vacation destination, and i really enjoyed my time there. the culture is amazing -it has influences from all over the world due to its central placement in the indian ocean. it was often used as a stopping point for journies to and from tanzania. It's culture is heavily influenced by Arabic and Indian cuisine, music and religion. Most of Zanzibar is muslim, and the popular tarab music is a combination of arabic percussion and indian string instruments. with some local island singing.

I am excited beyond words to be home soon! Though flying is part of the journey i do not enjoy, i have a serious hydration plan to limit my jet lag when i arrive. I am leaving philadelphia two days later to start programs for the incoming freshman at school, so ill need to have a lot of energy those days to get a million things done before i leave phili FOREVER.

Kendwa beach was beautiful, but I'm glade i got stranded in Paje (specifically Bweju) for a few nights. One of the best days was when i walked out intot he water with Cholo during low tide. Cholo was the host of the hotel i stayed at, which had been open for less than a week. They weren't very organized which allowed Cholo to hang out with me and be my best friend. during low tide in Paje you can walk out about a mile before the water comes above your knees. And you are walking through a reef. the farther out we went the more amazing life there was - huge beautiful starfish and tiny spindley ones; sea caterpillars (cucumbers?) and scary black spikey things; tiny blue jelly fish that give you a sharp sting; beautiful fish of ever color, including a pair of clownfish; and we even saw a water snake! i didnt know they lived in the ocean.

Cholo wanted to catch a clownfish so i took off my kanga ( a popular tanzanian clothe) and we sunk it underwater. for 20 minutes we tried to usher the fish onto the clothe and snatch it up, resulting in coral rips. Finally we caught him, and as we traippping him int he clathe with a bit of water i saw the other clonfish - he looked so lonely! i pictured him looking for his wife, and embaressingly enough pictured nemo...we had stolen nemo's mother! i told Cholo we had to catch the other fish, we couldn't separate them. and of course in the process of trying to catch the wife we lost our catch. and i told cholo he had to buy me a new kanga.

Yesterday I met with Annelise from North Carolina, whom i knew through a mutual friend. She's been living in Arusha and Zanzibar for three months, and i had a wonderful time talking to her about funny and serious observations I've made about the culture. Annelise works for a program that gives scholarships to brihght kids who cannot afford an education. We had a long dicussion about the education system and their methods, and what is lacking. It was nice to share some of my insights with someone else, and to see my theories confirmed by another student.

Later on we met at the Forodhani Gardens, a meeting place next to the beach with manicured lawns and long stone benches. Every Evening Chefs set up stands tehre and serve a variety of meat and sea food, and It's a real happenin place! I got two samosas and a fish pizza that they fried right there and was absolutely delicious. I then binged and went to a restaurant for three scoops of vanilla ice cream with coffe liquer poured on it. I was in extacy.

I hope you've enjoyed keeping up with my journey thus far. I have about a day and a half of flying until i arrive home completely dicombobulated, where i will be greeted by my missed family and friends.

Until then,

Ariel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb