Greetings from Johannesburg


Advertisement
Africa
July 5th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

this is day 7 of my trip and I'm loving every moment of it. We are in Jo'burg now and don't be fooled by its reputation, it is not as dangerous as it sounds. Actually the locals are really friendly and welcoming (then again we haven't been out past dark).

After leaving Cape Town we had long drive days stopping in the Great Karoo (windiest spot ever) and Kimberley where we spent 2 nights. We visited a diamond mine while there but it was nothing worth fussing about.

We arrived in Joburg yesterday and explore a little but the real fun happened today. We got up early and got to visit a lion park. I actually got to pet real lions (cubs) and feed giraffes. Really cool!

Better than that for me though was our visit to Soweto which for those of you who don't know is the townships next to Joburg which are known for their poverty. It was an incredible experience. We were welcomed and told not to be frightened because everything said about it in North America is made up and that in fact it is a very safe place. I'm sure that I will cherish my memories of that tour for the rest of my life.

Thank you to everyone who wrote me messages, I miss you all and will try to update again within a week.

Off to Botswana in the morning!!

lots of love and kisses from Johannesburg,

Melissa xox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb