Paballelo Clinic


Advertisement
Africa
June 9th 2009
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

sorry I haven't posted in a week or so. I went to an event at the school Saturday so I was unable to make it to town.

good news though! I now have a hot shower! with steam and everything. I never thought I'd be happy about a shower but it pretty much made my life 😉

Last Wednesday I visited a support group. Caregivers and patients from the community were there. Caregivers spoke about the high rates of youth pregnancy, importance of taking HIV meds on time, alocohol abuse and the effects it has on the medications, and information about the TB clinic. It was sort of like an educational group. They also gave a few inspirational speeches. \there was not much, if any, member involvement like I expected though.

I also visited the Paballelo clinic and was able to speak with a nurse who specializes with patients who have TB. I will type of the interview with a I return home. I just wrote it all out on here and lost it due to bad internet connections 😞 But in short, she told me that patients diagnosed with TB receive a grant from the government and are able to receive free food parcels, etc. so many patinets do not complete their 6 month treatment so that they can still receive the grant money. This leads to many re-treatments, which take about 8 months.

She also told me that in order for a person infected with HIV to receive their ARV meds, they MUST disclose to one other person (outside of the helping profession ie. their burse, caregiver). If they do not tell someone else they are not allowed to receive medications. The nurse said that if they have not disclosed they have not "accepted the situation". I wonder if this causes people to not take meds at all.. due to the stigma of having HIV many people refuse to disclose.

Going to see animals sunday-can't wait!!!

Advertisement



9th June 2009

Krista, I have been keeping up with your blog, I'm so proud of you !! and your awesome once in a life time experience and having a heart to take on this volunteer opportunity to help so many in need, YOU GO Girl, take care. Willie
10th June 2009

May 9th
I was just telling someone today about your internet issues and how you get booted off and have to retype everything. That sucks! I guess we should not expect great internet out there. I look forward to hearing about all your experiences and think it's great you are able to interview some of the people out there. Keep up the good work and stay safe. I love you and miss you lots! Mama
13th June 2009

Hey!!!
Just wanted you to know your in our thoughts and hope all is well. I'm sure your busy and "wow" your seeing the animals this weekend. Can't wait to see you and your pictures. Got your postcard, thanks. Have fun and be safe. Love, Nana and Pop Pop
13th June 2009

Hey!
So, I just got done reading all of your entries, and I think that what you are doing is amazing! I hope that your stay there finishes as well as it has been going, and I'm really proud of you! I've learned a lot by reading your entries, so I can't even imagine how much you have learned by experiencing them.
15th June 2009

Hurry up and come home! We miss you...but I know you are doing what is right for you! I got to see your mama at RE :) Hope all is well!!! I have absolutely nothing to update you with when you get back....it has been pretty boring here. haha
17th June 2009

Hey Sweetie
Hope everything is okay. Must be really, really busy. How were the animals, see any relatives? Talked to Mom on Sat and she said she had talked to you. Heard you got a package (???), bet it really made your day. Pop Pop is already telling people you'll be home soon. Time has really flown by fast and can't wait to see you. Again so proud of you. Your really special honey. Take care. Love you lots. Nana and Pop Pop

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb