duck duck.. goose!


Advertisement
Africa
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

Sorry I haven't posted in over a week. Internet issues and getting here have been a problem. But I want you all to know that I have had an awesome past two weeks. I have learned so much. I was able to spend some time with students from DeSales University. They adopted me for a couple days and we did some volunteer work together.

I did many many home visits to patients the past week and have learned so much. When I return I will post a detailed blog about everything as well as a reflection entry. The internet is unpredictable so I won't write too much today.

I met a woman yesterday that has AIDS. She found out because she had a baby boy and he got sick so they tested him and found out he was postive. He fot it from her through breat feeding. Her caregiver wanted me to speak to the woman about living a healthy postive life. It was very challenging for me. The woman started ARV's in Feb but continues to drink everyday and sleep with men, not telling them she is positive... Spreading the disease. She is also 8 months pregnant.. It made me realize just how serious this issue can be and why this disease spreads so rapidly. Even people who are educated do not seem to care about spreading the disease. They do not want people to know so badly that they will even infect others. Such a big risk. And there is only so much the helping profession can do. This woman in paticular knows she is positive and knows the effects of unprotected sex and alcohol yet she continues to live that way. What do you do when someone just does not care? 😞

With the students last week, we made over 100 sandwiches and brought them to the children in my cmmunity. They loved it!! Their Unversity paid for all the food. It felt great to lay with the kids and to be able to feed them. 😊 We taught them duck duck goose, they had never heard of it! They all loved it. I took a video of them playing that I can't wait to show!

Next week we are starting a new support group in the Progress community. I am looking forward to helping with the process. I attended a support group Thursday and met many patients. it was great to experience the support that the community has for those infected and to be part of the support they have for each other. Not everything is all bad here, there are some truly amazing people. The people I work with have the biggest hearts I've ever seen. They are so dedicated to their work and truly care for their clients.

One more week in Upington then off to Cape Town. 12 days til home.

I'll write again Tuesday!


Advertisement



20th June 2009

YEAH!
It was realy great to see you post on your blog. I know that everyone is releived to hear from you as I was getting phone calls. I know you like playing with the kids and they are enjoying the attention. Keep up the good work. I love you very much and miss you lots! Love, Mama
21st June 2009

enjoy your last week
Hey Krista, Told you this would be a life changing trip for you. Wishing you continued safety and great times during your last few days in Africa. Can't wait to see you back in the states. Have a great weekend. big bear hug, Daddy Dab
30th June 2009

I love duck duck goose and I am proud of you for spreading the game around the world :)

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb