Department of Health, South Africa


Advertisement
Africa
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to inform those reading about a meeting I had with the Department of Health here in Upington. I met with the HIV/AIDS District Coordinator for the Siyanda district (the district I am in).

Some background information: There are 9 provinces here in South Africa (I am in the North Cape province). Each province is broken down into districts (for example, the Siyanda district).

I spoke to Mr. Tom about HIV/AIDS issues in the area. He said that three of the main issues are 1. the stigma placed on those infected. Many people do not want others to know they are postive because it is linked with a negative stigma. I have seen this occur in the US as well. 2. unemployment. Many women use sex to make money which spreads the virus. 3. Lack of Education. People do not understand the virus or how it is passed from one person to another. (Even the newly inaugurated president publicly stated that he couldn't of have got the virus (from a girl he had recently raped that was found to be positive) because he "showered right afterwards". And that is coming from someone who IS educated. Great message to be sending to the country though, right?)

Upington is the second largest city in the Northern Cape. Many seasonal workers come in and out of the city for work, which can increase the prevalence of HIV in the area. Either people are bringing it here or taking it back to other areas of the country.

Many people move to South Africa from northern countries in Africa.. such as Zimbabwe. There are many people infected in these countries and when they move here it increases the HIV/AIDS population for SA.

A big issue when it comes to reaching out to those infected is the fact that transportation is difficult. Many many people do not have their own vehicles. Many of the neighborhoods I have been to have all dirt roads, making it difficult for emergency vehicles to get to patients.

There is also a large shortage of human resources. You can never have too many social workers/doctors/nurses. There are so many people infected, there is a great need for more human resources.

Just wanted to share that meeting with you all. I thought it was interesting.


Advertisement



3rd June 2009

Good to Hear From You
Great entry Krista. You will also find the number of women raped and contracting HIV to be very prevalent also. When I was there in the 90s almost 1/2 the women I met had been raped at some point during their life. Thanks for sharing this information. Not only has the trip revealed social injustice and ignorance to you but all of us through your blog. wishing you health, hope and happiness. big bear hug, Daddy Dab
3rd June 2009

Hey honeeee
I am so proud of you! You are an amazing person. And npo I don't have to say that because you're my daughter. I know that I am very lucky to have you as my daughter. Everyone who comes into contact with you is also lucky. You went out there with the right mindset and you will come back with even more to give due to your experiences. Love you and miss you lots!
6th June 2009

Interesting!!!!!
Hey Sweetie, your sure giving us a lot of info. It's amazing how things are sooo different in other countries. You really never think about what we have (cars. roads, hospitals, doctors, nurses) and what other people don't have. Thanks for being you and what you are trying to do. Very, very, very proud of you. Has it gotten a little bit warmer? Can't wait to see you again. Lots of love, Nana and Pop Pop (ps thanks for Pop Pop's card).
8th June 2009

Catching up
I am "facebook challenged"...just ask Scooter. I just read all of you blog. I am so proud of you and the decisions you have made. I know you are making a diffence on each person you meet and on that area of the world. Keep making good choices, and remember the rules: Be good, be careful and have fun! I love you!
8th June 2009

You are such an inspiration to everyone here! I am so proud of you and have been bragging about what you are doing to everyone. I think it is amazing that you are making such an impact, learning so much, and teaching all of us!
23rd June 2009

the president
our president is NOT an educated man. he is a dimwit. I worked as a teacher in upington for 10 years and i can relate to the circumstances that you are describing. what this country needs is greater incentives for medical professionals to go work in places like upington.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb