Week 2


Advertisement
Africa
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey hey everyone,

Just got off work for the school a little bit ago and came to the computer lab for my usual Tuesday update 😊

This past saturday the dance instructor at oasis picked me up and took me to meet some friends and family of his. We drank coffee and exchanged cultures. He has a whole list of questions he asks me and it's really cool to hear my opinion and the opinions of tose who live here in south africa. The culture is so different. I have evn noticed differences between the races when it comes to opinions about government and such issues.

When I went to breakfast with Aubrey, Tsepo, and Stephen (all black men), Aubrey showed me how the restaurant used to be split up by race. All blacks had to sit on one side. It was cool that we were all sitting together. And just to think- that was only 15 years ago! Crazy to think that things were so segregated. One of the young men I talked to actually said he liked things better when places (schools, churches, neighborhoods) were segregated. I guess some people felt more comfortable with that.. but I was not expecting to hear that from anyone. Even now, people show me when we are driving neighborhoods and they say "that's where the colored people live" or "that's a colored school". Even today people still separate themselves.

When I was walking through town a young black man started talking to me about how he liked that I was walking with "them", he said, because I'm white and no one else on the street was white. I thought it was cool that he wanted to tell me that. I hadn't really thought about it much.

Yesterday I worked with the younger children. I took Dab the Bear for a photo shoot and the kids loved it. The kids were a lot of fun. One kid is autistic and spent all 6 hours of school chasing a little red marble around the room. He wasn't a very nice kid. He hit the other ones, tried to bite me, and hit me on the head because he wanted me tea! haha. The others were nice though. i took some videos of them singing and dancing. I can't wait to show everyone!

Post again later this week!

Advertisement



3rd June 2009

Good to Hear From You
I know this is a life changing experience for you. Even though I went as an adult in my early 30s and had already been living with HIV for many years. I was shocked at some of the conditions, the lack of care and everything was still very segregated back then so eating together was not allowed which was sad. Take care of yourself and be safe. big bear hug, Daddy Dab
4th June 2009

WOW!
Hey Krista! Thanks for keeping up with your blog :) It is so, so interesting to read about all of the ethnic/racial tensions that are still present in South Africa. You must be learning so much! I can't wait to hear more about your adventures! Peace <3
8th June 2009

you should pinch that kid! haha. Or kick him.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb