"When in Rome.. do as the Romans do"


Advertisement
Africa
May 29th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Hey Everyone!

Good news! My job Wed-Fri has internet in the office so i will hopefulyl be able to use it to update this and email more often!

On wednesday I started working at Christanna, a home based care organization for those infected/affected by HIV/AIDS and TB. We spend most of our time driving to various communities and then walking the neighborhoods, making home visits to the patients. Each community has their own caregivers that work for Christanna. These people visit the homes of the patients and administer medicine, help them get to clinics, and offer than support. I will be helping with support groups for those infected and for the caregivers. They also want me to help them implement a new support group while I am here, so we will be working on that.

It has been an adventure visiting the neighborhoods and clinics- just so different from home. Here, everyone can get healthcare. But they must get to the clinic early and wait in line (usually very long line) to see the nurses. Doctors visit each clinic once a week, so they only see those patients referred to them on the day they come. Most people just see nurses.

The neighborhoods we have visited so far (Rosedale & Raaswater) are very poor. The people all live in shacks (Shanti homes). A major problem is that the patients can not get well because they have dirt floors (the dust causes problems in their lungs) and they have no insulation in their homes (it;s winter here right now and gets very cold at night). Multiple people live in one shack and the blankets I have seen in the homes do not seem sufficient. I sleep in a well insulated house wearing sweatpants, a sweatshirt, socks, and THREE big blankets to stay warm. I just can not imagine living practically outside in the winter here and not having warmth (and being sick on top of it all). They do not all have proper plumbing (no toilets) which can cause bacteria in the home and the surrounding area. Many of the people I visited are bedridden, they are unable to sit up on their own. Some of the caregivers have asked me to come back to the neighborhoods to help counsel some patients. They say that sometimes it is easier for the patients to talk to people they do not know, so they want me to try and help. Working here has been a great experience so far and I look forward to the next 4 weeks, although it's heartbreaking to see the conditions of the people and the neighborhoods. You will be shocked by some of the pictures I have taken.

I will post as soon as possible. Miss you all still.



Advertisement



29th May 2009

Good job Krista!
How big are the "neighborhoods" were the shacks are? I couldn't imagine living in a what basically sounds like a metal shed, which i imagine would just amplify whatever the outside conditions are!
1st June 2009

That's My Girl
We are soooo proud of you. Keep telling everyone what your doing. Your just the most amazing young woman. I know you can listen and help people adjust as much as they can to their problems. Setting up a support group won't faze you at all. I'll think of you when I'm under "covers". Aren't you glad you took all different clothes. Can't wait to read your next blog. Take care and hugs to you. Love and kisses, Nana and Pop Pop
1st June 2009

Great Work!
It appears you are adjusting into your "New World"... and doing a great job. I am sure the patients there really look forward to seeing you and that you can provide them with the empathy they need. You have a really big heart, our clients here were able to pick up on your sincererity and kindness, I know the patients there will also. Keep up the good work. We are proud of you! Stay Safe.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb