Started Work!


Advertisement
Africa
May 26th 2009
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey!

The internet here is not so good, so if I don't post that's probabaly why! I'm going to come to the internet shop tues and saturdays unless something comes up! This may be random because i have a lot to say! 😊

Sunday, Pascale (she works for dreamcatcher) took me to Augrabies National Park. They have beautiful waterfalls and a few types of wild animals. We saw baboons, giraffes, dassie (rock rabbits), and klipspringers (antelope type animals). I took a million pictures and I can't wait to show them off!

I tried liver. Manini didn't know what animal it came from though haha. It was gross... never again.

Monkeys run around here like dogs and cats do back home! haha they run around and it's no big deal to the people here. I think it's awesome though! they're really cute. They come to Oasis and steal fruti though!

There is a clothing store a black from here named "Markham" 😊

Work at Oasis is great! I love kids to begin with, and these kids are awesome. They mainly speak Afrikaans but I try to talk with them. We communicate mostly by smiling. A dancer comes and teaches them dances like the foxtrot, the cha cha, and the waltz so I'm learning! They are such great dancers! They stare at my a lot. A;l the children do, even the ones that stay with Manini on the weekends. It's not a bad stare, it's just like I'm someone new to them I guess. They smile and laugh at me when I dance! haha The little boys fight over who gets to dance with me though so I guess I'm not that bad 😉 I got to teach my own english lesson yesterday in a class of 11 students, age 16-47. It's easier to talk with the older ones because they know more english. It was cool to teach them but it took a lot of time. All the students have a learning disability so it takes a LOT of patience 😊

I like Pabellelo, the neighborhood I live in. It's noisy though! people are always walking around the street and everyone keeps their doors open. they play loud music and on sunday morning someone preached on a mic in the neighborhood from 5am-7am... and then the bells started. Religion is huge here.

The dance teacher is going to plan a get together for me to meet some locals and exchange cultures! I'm excited. We may go to on of the parks here because I want to see more animals!

Pictures may not be posted til I get home, sorry 😞

starting work with the support groups tomorrow! excited.

MISS YOU ALL SO SO MUCH!

Advertisement



26th May 2009

Have a great week
glad to hear you are getting settled in and meeting the adults and children. Hope you have a great week. big bear hug, Dab
26th May 2009

It sounds like you are adjusting wonderfully! You will be happy to know you are missing absolutely nothing but a lot of rain and bad weather here so enjoy every day! : ) I can't wait to see the pictures! Miss you!! Did you get to do any of the things on your list while you were in Capetown??
27th May 2009

Markham?????
So you found a store and went shopping already? HaHa! Did you like anything in your namesake store? Sounds like your going to have a fantastic time. Monkeys running around all the time, you must feel right at home, ha ha. Make sure Dab is getting a lot of attention. Miss you, can't wait to see you again, don't get attached to any animal, you "can't" bring it home. Love and kisses, Nana
28th May 2009

Hey Honeeeeee
I miss not talking to you every day. I wish you could tell me about everything you are doing every day like you do at home. I know you are so excited about all the experiences you are having. I am excited for you too! Stay safe! I love you and miss you very much!! Love, Mama
29th May 2009

Hey honeee!
Maybe we can help by sending blankets out there! Let us know and I am sure something can be organized even if we do it after you get back. I am glad you get to email more often, that way I know you are doing OK. I look so forward to hearing about your experiences and seeing all the pictures. I love you and miss you lots!!!! Love, Mama
30th May 2009

Sounds AWESOME
WOW - It sounds really cool there, glad you are enjoying it. So cool to experience other cultures. As to the Monkeys, I see Nana said "no", but I'll take two if you can catch them and sneak them home. Take full advantage of every minute you have there so you have no regrets - you can sleep all you want when you get home ( : Stay safe - can't wait to hear more and to see some pics.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 8; ; mem: 1.1mb