In Upington!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
May 23rd 2009
Published: May 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone!!

I miss you all so much! I want you all to know that I made it safely to Upington after my overnight bus ride. My host mom, Momma Manini, is nice. I'm feeling a little homesick but I'm excited to start work this coming week. i will be working at Oasis, a disabled children's school on Mondays and Tuesdays from 8am-2pm and Christanna from 8am-4pm. While at Christanna I will be working with support groups for people affected by HIV/AIDS. I am looking forward to gaining another perspective on counseling and support groups in another culture. I am very grateful to have spent time working with Heather at the AIDS Care and Education Program in Jacksonville. I learned so much from her! I take the school bus with the kids to Oasis and walk to Christanna, which is only about a ten minute walk I think.

Yesterday my site coordinator, Ellen, took me on a small tour of Upington. I will be updating this every Saturday and maybe Tuesdays after work. I have to take a taxi bus into town (which is quite the experience in itself) but I will get here once a week, maybe twice, no matter what!

I am limited on time today because I came with Manini and she wants to go soon, so I will have to keep this one short. I am keeping a journal that I write in every day and I will bring it next time so I can transfer what I have been experiencing into this online blog. I have a lot of pictures!!

Overall, I have a nice bedroom and a nice home to live in. Not all the houses in the neighborhood are as nice though.. I realized last night that everyone comes to Manini for leftovers. We had about 4 people stop by that she fed with the leftover food. She's like the Momma of the neighborhood. I have to take baths (which i haven't done since I was little!) or cold showers. We have to heat up buckets of water and pour them into the tub. Different from what I am used to. So, everyone, enjoy your hot showers and the comfort of your homes and DON'T TAKE THEM FOR GRANTED! haha. I know I do when I'm home, but I sure do miss it now!!

Miss you all, will write as soon as possible!



Advertisement



23rd May 2009

Hey honeee!
I am so glad to hear you have a decent place to stay and are with good people. I can't have anything happen to my baby! You are right about taking things for granted. We should all be thankful for what we have. I promise to make sure your shower is nice and hot and ready for your arrival back home. Tell Dab to keep you comfy and to give you lots of hugs for me. I'm sure he is taking care of you. I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!!! MISS YOU LOTS TOO!!! Love, Mama
24th May 2009

Wow. Sounds like you are having quite an experience!!! Just so you know you had a check at work which I am giving to Mama to put in your account! Exciting eh? lol. Well, I can't wait to see your next post!
25th May 2009

Proud of You
Make sure you keep a journal of everything you do and see. Later in life you'll have a beautiful book of your life and marvel as we do of all the things you've done. Glad your safe and sounds like you have a good Momma Minini. Look forward to reading your blog. Have a great time, love ya loads and see ya when you get home. Love and kisses, Nana and Pop Pop

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb