Thursday 31st July


Advertisement
Africa
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was back to normal. I went to my placement & Sheila went to hers. It was my penultimate day at work & I was so sad. I’m going to be crying my eyes out on Friday; I really don’t want to leave. I love it so much in my school. I had a brilliant day today. The teacher didn’t ask me to teach, maybe because she worked me so hard yesterday! I just helped the children with their sums & stuff. The start of the day wasn’t that great though, I got beaten up by a 4 year old. He was so strong & he got me to the floor & was kicking my head. All I did was ask him to share the ball he was hogging & not even playing with! His name was David, he’s very cute but he pissed me off today. I was screaming at him in English. I soon stood up & put him right. Only 9 pupils were in the class today, we were missing Dorine. I hope everyone’s in tomorrow so I can give them their presents! It’s going to be wicked seeing their faces; I hope they look after the stuff I bought them. I got the teacher a card too & wrote the same thing twice on there. Once in English & the other Swahili, I got Ibrahm to translate for me. I would write down what I wrote but I don’t have it on me, pole. Peter picked me up at 11 from a hectic day at work. We had a nice lunch of spaghetti & veg balls then had a “staff party.” Previously everyone gave money to Maria who was organising a party for the staff to say thanks to all they do for us. We had ice cream, speeches & tears from a lot of people. I think everyone’s really upset that they’re leaving although a few people are staying longer, I’m jealous! After the party we had a group photo, it’s not a great one of me but it’s nice of everyone else. We then filled in evaluation forms & Ibrahm gave us a speech on how amazing we are. The forms took a while & I remember answering the same questions last year. We had 3 hours of free time today so I packed. I’m pretty much done & my mam will be very proud of me, I fitted everything in! I’m leaving a few pointless stuff here & giving it to Meghan & Caitlin who are staying for 5 weeks. The room was so messy while we were packing but now it’s done it’s a bit better. I’m glad it’s all out of the way so I won’t be worrying about it the day of the flight. Everyone went to town while we packed apart from us 3, Bridget & co & Meghan & Caitlin. We all arranged to meet at the Italian/Indian at 6, so we got a cab. Bridget, Jim & Harry didn’t come as they went out last night but everyone else from our group did. It was brilliant to have like a “last supper.” Some people are leaving tomorrow morning, either to go home or climb Kili or Meru - crazy people! There were about 20 of us on a long table. We stayed for a while & chatted to everyone. I feel like I know everyone well now, it’s going to be sad to say goodbye to them. We have to leave home base at 4am so we have to say goodbye to everyone Friday night before they sleep. I’ve already told Caitlin & Meghan I’m waking them up 4am Saturday. We left before everyone else (but not long after) from the restaurant to the highway supermarket. Trev & Kerry got stuff for their children & I got sugar, rice & tea for my teacher. She’ll definitely appreciate it, I got lots! When we got back we had a Karaoke fest with Caitlin for a while & sang a few songs. We probably pissed everyone off so we then went outside. I’ve just been typing this blog for hours now. I’m sat outside on the sofa on my own trying to remember what’s been happening the past week. I just haven’t had time to write everything the day it happens so it’s been hard work. Well it’s done now so that’s good. I spoke to my mam & dad the other day & they think my blog’s broke because I haven’t uploaded anything in ages, sorry it’s taken so long! Sheila also spoke to Sanj, she’s missing him loads. I’m so excited to see them all on Saturday, it’ll be wicked. It’s very late, haven’t been up this late before. It’s 12:40, oops, better go to bed. Well I’ll be able to sleep now I know the blogs sorted, I’ll upload it in the morning. Tomorrow’s going to be so sad, I’m going to take my laptop & play music & have a little party for the children to say goodbye. Right, I’m off to bed, hope I don’t wake anyone when I walk into the room. Write soon,
Caitlin : ) x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb