my last day in africa!


Advertisement
Africa
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hiyaa, I'm writing this in an internet cafe rather than on my laptop so it wont be as detailed as all my others have been. I've just uploaded my blog & adventures from the past week. I'm now sat in the Tanzanian coffee lounge. Sorry it's taken me sooooo long to write post the blog. It was my last day at work today. I'm going to write more about it on my laptop when I get back becuase I don't have much time on here. Briefly - it was so sad to say goodbye. I cried all day & the children sang to me. I took my laptop in & played them songs, they loved the music. I was teaching them dances & recording them dancing. I gave them all their presents & gave the teacher her sugar, rice & tea. They were all really grateful & the children loved their packs. I also put the posters on the wall & they look much better. I took balloons & bubbles in too so we just danced & partied all day. They didn't have any lessons & the morning went so quickly. It has been a really emotional day. Shelby & Greg left t 9 to climb Mt.Meru so I had to say goodbye to them before placement, it was horrible, i hate goodbyes. I definatley want to visit everyone again. Janeice left after placement too to go to Zanzibar so we said goodbye to her. We then had to wish Susie & Caroline luck & say goodbye to them as they're climbing Kili! They left after lunch. I love them both so it was so hard to say goodbye, they're both amazing. They were really nervous but they'll be fine. After an emotional morning I went to bed for about an hour. We then got a taxi to town & I'm now sitting in the internet cafe with Trev, other Caitlin, Kate & Katherine. We're going to go back by half 6 for dinner then I need to do some final packing & I'm done. I actually cannot wait to see my parents & chetch again, it's going to be lush. I'm so sad to leave here though, I'm not ready yet! I have a big mixture of emotions at the moment. Our flight's at 6am so we're leaving the home base at 4. Sorry if I'm repeating things I've already said, I can't remember what I wrote on my laptop haha. I have to say goodbye to everyone tonight before they sleep but I may wake a few people up at 4am before I leave. Right, I'm going to get a coffee now then try & take my shoes back. I bought some the other day from a shop nearby & they broke so I'm going to try & get some more, dunno how that will work. I also want to get my nails repainted, they all chipped so I bit them off. Anyway, the next entry I post will probably be when I get home, unless the home base computer starts working. Thanks for reading, sorry it took so long! See you all very soon 😊
Caitlin xxxxx

Advertisement



1st August 2008

You've done beautifully!
Way to go Caitlin -- the children knew how much you cared and the teacher (I'm sure) loved having you there! Good work! I'm so proud you went back!
1st August 2008

last day
Hi well done im so proud of you. You did great work. Im nearly crying reading this! Have a safe flight home. Ill talk to you soon. Cant wait to see all your photos let me know where you post them. Love you loads talk soon Diane xx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb