Tuesday 29th July


Advertisement
Africa
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I went with Sheila to work this morning. It was brilliant to see what she’s been doing these past 3 weeks. We got into the same van, told the driver not to go to Soweto nursery & we got dropped off at the coffee shop. Sheila works in Safari training college & teaches adults English an hour a day. We went on the internet as the school doesn’t open until 9 & then we walked over to the college. The pupils were already in the class when we got there. Sheila introduced me to them & showed them a picture of me on her family tree which they had studied a week previous. I really enjoyed the lesson. Their English is quite good so they didn’t have much trouble. Apparently they’re used to just copying things down but Sheila does things differently. We played a maze game with them & it was like a problem solving thing. After the lesson Sheila usually stays in the room & marks work but we went out to town. We spent half an hour & $60 in a shop. I bought so much stuff for my children. It’s my last day on Friday so I wanted to get something to take to them. I was just going to get a pencil or something but I ended up buying the shop. I got 10 folders & made packs up for the children. I put a sharpner, book, pencil, coloured pencils, rubber, stickers & a highlighter in each of them. I stuck the children’s names on the front too. I hope they like their present & don’t just rip it up or something. I also bought them a ball from another shop. We then went to the hairdressers as I wanted to top up my nail varnish, it chipped. Before we knew it then Peter was outside waiting to pick us up. After lunch we went to Kili Kids, the orphanage. There were only about 10 of us that went. I loved it but it was very sad. There’s only one girl who’s working there as her placement. She’s been there 6 weeks & she came & showed us around. They had loads of resources but I think orphanages are sad no matter what. We all made a circle & sang songs with the children, it was very cute. Sheila, Susie & Caitlin (not me, Caitlin Conroy) got bored & said they didn’t feel useful so they started walking home. We stayed for ages (from 2ish - 5:30) & then the driver picked the rest of us up. The children were so sweet & Kate took her speakers so they were all dancing to Celine Dion. On the way home the girl (Kate) that works in the orphanage told us an awful story. One child is there because their father made them watch while he killed their mother. I was so shocked when she told me, that poor child. At least they’re in a good place now, a neighbour noticed I think & took her to the orphanage. We got home in time for dinner but Sheila wasn’t there! Bridget told me she went to town with Susie for a meal - rebel! Trev, Shelby, Meghan & I went to the supermarket. I bought sweets & put them in my children’s bags I got them. I also got pointless stuff for myself like noodles, chewing gum & nutella. We caught a taxi down, asked him to wait for us then got the same one back. We just chilled then for the rest of the night. Trev was sat on my bed at we were completely messing around singing reflection from Mulan. We were taking the piss & singing it really high & loud, forgetting everyone could hear us. The walls here are paper thin. Once we finished everyone cheered & clapped us, felt like an idiot, very funny though. Trev took her braids out half way, now they’re like curly extensions, they look really cool. We went to bed late ish after playing cards & chatting. Until tomorrow, Caitlin : ) x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb