Monday 28th July


Advertisement
Africa
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was excited to go back to work on Monday after not seeing the children all weekend. They were very excited as usual & happy to see me. I was sad also though knowing that I only had 5 days left in work. It’s going to be so hard to have to say goodbye to them. I feel like I’ve only just developed a good strong bond with them. I feel like I know each of their characters now. It was so amazing when I walked up to the classroom, no one was in there & all the teacher’s beds were in there. She’d swapped the classrooms around. The children were all in what used to be her bedroom. She must have moved all the stuff around ready for us on Saturday, bless her, I just assumed that we’d do it. It looks so much better, the classrooms much bigger now. I’m so happy for the children & it made me love my teacher even more. It shows how selfless she is that she’d let them have her large room just to go to school in. The morning actually went quite fast because of the new environment maybe. The children were so hyper. Peter picked me up at 11:45 & we got home just before lunch. I’m starting to get a bit fed up of the food now, I like it loads but it’s the same old stuff every day. The lunch was okay but I think I’m just spoilt now. I tried to sleep after lunch but Trev jumped on me. There was a batik class going on & I didn’t feel like doing it, I’m not the most artistic person. Trev forced me & I went down there. It was from 3 - 6:30 & took a long time. I made some stupid thing that didn’t even look like anything but it was interesting. It depressed me how some looked really amazing. It was hard though because you have to use wax & stuff. Trev made a good batik but she reckons it’s crap. We didn’t have dinner at the home base, they took us out. None of us had a clue where we were going. We were in the van at 7 when food’s usually at 6:30 so we were all hungry. We went to Moshi vocational centre. It’s like a place for children & adults I think where they practice their talents. There were sewing rooms, drums, a DJ kit etc, it was really well off, a lovely place though, fantastic opportunities. Some hilarious African woman (who sounded Chinese & whenever she spoke we’d piss our selves) gave us a short talk on what the centre was about then said we could have food. It was okay, just like the stuff at home. I had my first African banana; I think they taste the same as home. We then had a “talent show” some men & women performed lots of traditional dances while the children drummed. We then had a performance from an acrobatic. He swallowed fire & did all sorts of weird stuff. The Chinese African then asked if any of us wanted to show them a talent. A few people said I should sing but I didn’t bother, I knew my mam would have forced me if she was there. Instead we all sang the “avocado song” as a round. They all loved it & clapped us & it reminded me of last year when we did the YMCA for the Massai tribe. We got to look around the building & speak to anyone. At the end there was a “disco” we all got up & danced for ages while a student played the music. It was actually really fun. Sheila can move! Bloody hell, she’s brilliant, reminded me of my mam, must have the Anderson gene. We were dancing for ages to Mzungu & African music. There was one hilarious remix by Alvin & the chipmunks about twisting potatoes. We all stood in a circle & clapped while different people went in & danced. Sheila didn’t stop dancing, she’s fab! Janeice named her “sexy Sheila “& says it in a London accent. Finally, all hot & sweaty we got back in to the van & drove home. We got back quite late so we just played cards & slept. Another good day! As always, Thanks for reading.
Caitlin : ) x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 41; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb