Fourth Week in Uganda


Advertisement
Africa
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

As of this Saturday, I will have been in Uganda a month. I am still reeling from that fact. The time has gone by so fast.

This week has been relatively uneventful. Two days ago, I went on several home visits with a field officer from TASO. The homes were about an 1hr away from Mbale and we travelled there on a dirt bike no less. The entire trip lasted about 6 hours. The roads were horrible. Half way there, we went from paved, pot-holed roads to complete dirts roads too no roads at all. But but was seriously sore and were my hands from gripping the hands rails to prevent myself from falling off! But it was worth it. It was interesting to see how the most destitue of TASO clients live. But each individual we met, thanked me personally for coming to their home. As I have discovered, to have a mzungo come and visit you, it is a privalege and honor.By the time I came home, I was absolutely filthy from the red dirt and dust. My green pants were beige. And my skin turned two shades darker. They want to teach me how to drive a dirt bike! I think I will take them up on it....

Since my last battle with our resident mice. I have discovered two things. Here, the mice are called rats because there is another rodent here that is the size of a small cat...!!!!!!! Of which, apparently I've been told, there are many. (Wimper).

I am not sure as to how to lead into the next thing I want to discuss. The other morning, as Lindsey and I entered our office, there was a letter sitting on the desk. It was a love letter, offering marriage with undying love to Lindsey. It was the most sincere love letter to someone you've never met. This guy has only seen us in the passing. Hes never actually met Lindsey. Our assumption is that Lindsey, because she is blonde and prefers to wear skirts, is considered a good prospect for a Ugandan wife! One of the girls from DC and I are the only two dark hairded women in the office and we both wear pants to skirts. As we were discussing Lindsey's suitability as a Ugandan wife, Meiti and are giving each other knowing looks and mental high fives. It was a good way to start off the morning....

A think this would be a good time to add a food update:

There are several types of food that are considered everyday basics. Posho, which is corn flour with water. Its like a heavy mashed potato with no flavour. After the first few bites, you never want to eat it again. Mom - its worse than poult and you know how I do not lie poult! The other is matooke. It is mashed plantains, again there is not much flavour. Both posho and matooke are used as filler foods, there is not much nutrition in it but because it makes you feel full it is used quite often. Jackfruit is a popular fruit here. For those who do not know what it is, imagine a large pill capsule that is green, spiky and rough. At the adult size, jackfruit weighs about 15-20lbs. To eat it, you have to pull out the seed capsules inside the fruit. Around these seed capsules is the meat of the fruit. The part that is okay to eat. The flavour is a mix between honeydew melon and mango. I really like it but it sometimes not worth the effort to get to the meat.

As for the weather....

As I am writing this blog, we are currently experiencing a flash flood. I am from BC, Canada and even I have to say that the rain that comes down during a flash is torrential. It has lasted about 1hr and 25 minutes. Enough time to cause mud slides down the side of Mt. Wanale.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb