After one and half a week I write again...


Advertisement
Africa
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello guys,
Sleeping as long as I want, wow,great! Today I do not work, weekend I'm off, so we decided to visit something (the source of the Nil). The last week was very good. I'll try to summarize it.
Friday the 15th of February:
I go to work: we had a Malaria-Emergency and I learned how to inquire the blood to find out the Typ of the blood and I saw under a microscope a maleria-bacterium and I learned how it looks like and so on.
Joeri started to prepare something for his project. Writing down a plan how to start planting trees and to protect the trees from damage caused by people and pests.
In the afternoon Joeri, Peter and I went shopping for tonight, the single party (I hate single parties!) But we were invited to go there with the other singles from the church and cause we didn't have clothes for such a event we bought Joeri trousers, a shirt, and shoes for both of us. (I took a summer-dress with me).
The singleparty was really good. We played, we talked, we had a good meal and we danced very long. Very romantical (a american girl said)!
Saturday the 16th:
Relaxing day, playing soccer, lying in the sun,...
Sunday we went to church and ate in the church ( every Sunday one group is cooking for everybody). After church the americans, Peter, Steven the driver and the Mpangas (Flavia and Martin) left us to make a trip to Kiwangala and Kasese the two Children's Sure house projects and to a national parc. They will return on Wednesday.
Monday till wednesday: It was very quiet without alle the guys. I had to wake up very early because I had to go with Flavia at seven o'clock picking up the children and other people and than going to work. Work was good this week. I really learned a lot and now I can do much more in the clinic. I already got my own patient ;-) (with help from the nurses if I have any questions of course). I mix the medicine and give them to the patient i.v. or into the bums...
The people are very friendly and I try to learn Luganda more and more.
The few days were also very hart because a water pipe very broken and we had no water the whole time, the electricity comes and goes, we had to wash ourselves in a bucket with rainwater and using the traditional toilets (a hole in the ground!) But it was every time a adventure to use it. Ones a met a rat, the other time two mouses, geckos and last time a toad. Very exciting;-)!
We also went to the forest where Joeri will work the next time.
In the evening Martins brother invited us for diner. Martins family is very big, Flavias too, so we haven't discovered jet which persons belong to their real family.
On Thursday 21th of February:
I didn't go to work because I wanted to spent the last day with the Americans. In the afternoon we went shopping and later we went to church and the americans said good bye to everybody. After we spent the evening and half of the night together at Mpangas home, celebrating crying, talking,.... and falling into the bed very tired.
Friday the 22th:
Nothing interesting to tell (Bible study, a lot of sleep,...)
Saturday was a great day:
Joeri, Peter and I took the taxi (taxi is like a bus in our countries) to Jinja and visited the Source of the Nile. The place where the Nile starts his journey from the lake Victoria until he reach the Mediterranean sea in Egypt. We took a boot and a man explained us a lot about the birds and other things like for example the Nile-Varan we saw and I really couldn't let it to swim in the wonderful water (I know I have to be careful, but I informed myself before and other people did it too, I guess;-)).
Before we left this beautiful place we ate a fresh fish then we make us on the way back to Kampala with Boda-Bodas and the Taxi.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb