Cape Town ... the dream continues


Advertisement
Africa
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I will let the photos do the talking this time round. Another 2 months have passed since I last updated you on life in Cape Town.

I am happy to report that all is well despite my little mishap a week ago when I was mugged, held up at gunpoint and most of my personal belongings taken! All a bit of a nightmare and the police were less than helpful...accusing me of wasting police time when I insisted on them documenting all that was stolen, telling me it was my fault because I was wearing expensive clothing (little did they know it was all fake attire from Bangkok) and stressed that I was one of the lucky ones because muggers around here don't think twice about shooting their victims...so I should count myself lucky! So long as preparations for 2010 are on track, we needn't worry about rising crime levels!

I have now finished up at work. Sadly, the court case I was working on - TAC & SANAC v. Dr Matthias Rath and the Government of South Africa - was postponed until later this year to allow for the late filing of evidence. I really enjoyed working
Franschoek Cheese & Wine FestivalFranschoek Cheese & Wine FestivalFranschoek Cheese & Wine Festival

Jeremy, Neil, Nick, Nicci, Kirsty & Romy
on the case and look forward to hearing the outcome later this year. Thanks to all at TAC for making my time with you so memorable and worthwhile!

All work and no play makes for not a very interesting blog entry....so I am pleased to report that there have been plenty of nights out, dinner parties, wine festivals, and generally just chilling out and soaking up all that this beautiful city has to offer.

I am off to Namibia on Sunday for 2 weeks but will be returning to Cape Town at the beginning of June to see out my last month here! Maybe then I'll make it to Robben Island and all the other tourist attractions I have yet to visit....



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

HemisphereHemisphere
Hemisphere

Jeremy, Nick and Neil
Camp's BayCamp's Bay
Camp's Bay

...beautiful
Anna and NeilAnna and Neil
Anna and Neil

Camps Bay
Kirsty and NeilKirsty and Neil
Kirsty and Neil

Bantry Bay
Anna and BiancaAnna and Bianca
Anna and Bianca

Easter Sunday
LameezLameez
Lameez

Easter Sunday
Bianca and NeilBianca and Neil
Bianca and Neil

Easter Sunday


18th May 2007

How I love that place!
Photos, especially of Camps Bay, brought a real lump to my throat you won't be surprised to hear. Franschoek and thereabouts are rather nice too.... Robben Island when you return ...or else!!! xx
18th May 2007

Wow
Thats brightened up a dull Friday afternoon. U could be a photographer!!!! Wish i was with you to join in the adventures!!! Love u lots
24th May 2007

Hi!
Hi Neil! Glad you're okay. Must have been so frightening being held up. You look as if you're having a good time now (another great blog). Take care and keep to the main roads (or did it happen on a main road?) xxxx

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb